Posting a question without being an "Established User"

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
Post Reply
jackvrouwes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: January 17th, 2012, 11:12 pm

Posting a question without being an "Established User"

Post by jackvrouwes »

I am new here, and I was trying to post a question under "Debian/Ubuntu package." I received the following response "Only established users can post links" on submittal, and my question was not accepted. Nowhere in this forum can I find an explanation what that means, nor can I find guidance how to become an "established user." Can anyone help me post my original question?

User avatar
safihre
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4056
Joined: April 30th, 2015, 7:35 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Posting a question without being an "Established User"

Post by safihre »

Because we were being overrun with spam linking to external websites, we now require to have at least 5 posts before you can post a link.
Without the link you can post your message. Isn't that the case?
We should update that text probably!
If you like our support, check our special newsserver deal or donate at: https://sabnzbd.org/donate

jackvrouwes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: January 17th, 2012, 11:12 pm

Re: Posting a question without being an "Established User"

Post by jackvrouwes »

Sorry Safihre, I am still confused. How do I post without a link? Was the term "link" meant as a reference to a posting on another forum, other than this one? Yes, I provided such a reference inside the body of my posting to enhance clarity. I will try now to repost without such a link. Yes, some clarity of the response may help people.

User avatar
inpheaux
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 730
Joined: January 16th, 2008, 9:14 pm

Re: Posting a question without being an "Established User"

Post by inpheaux »

"Link" literally means "Link". You cannot include a URL of any form in your post. If you feel a link is absolutely necessary for your post to make sense, don't include a leading "http://", just list the domain.

jackvrouwes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: January 17th, 2012, 11:12 pm

Re: Posting a question without being an "Established User"

Post by jackvrouwes »

Thanks, I understand the issue now. I posted my original concern without the leading "http://" successfully. I suggest the text generated by the forum to "wrong" postings be reworded according to the previous comment by inpheaux.

Post Reply