sabnzbd updating [CentOS / Linux / git]

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
Post Reply
Hydranet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: March 10th, 2012, 6:07 pm

sabnzbd updating [CentOS / Linux / git]

Post by Hydranet »

Hello,

I have been manually updating each time a new version is released. I was actually wanting to automatically update
and the easiest way I could think of is by using the the master git repo instead of using the tar from the main site.

It says in the git repo documentation: "master contains only stable releases (which have been merged to master) and is intended for end-users."
So I would like to know if it is really safe to use the master git repo? That way I can just do an automatic pull once a week and have SABnzbd updated automatically if there has been added anything to master as the new version without needing to download a new tar each time. I am pretty sure it should be safe since what it says in the git repo documentation about it being for end users, but I would just like have that verified from one of the developers before I actually start to do that :)
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8812
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: sabnzbd updating

Post by sander »

On which OS are you?
Hydranet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: March 10th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Re: sabnzbd updating

Post by Hydranet »

sander wrote: July 27th, 2019, 7:58 am On which OS are you?
Hey sander,
Thanks for the reply, I am running on CentOS.
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8812
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: sabnzbd updating

Post by sander »

feedmebits wrote: July 27th, 2019, 8:00 am
sander wrote: July 27th, 2019, 7:58 am On which OS are you?
Hey sander,
Thanks for the reply, I am running on CentOS.
Ah, OK. I was asking because on Ubuntu using the SABnzbd PPA will take care of uptodate SABnzbd.

Anyway:
- yes, AFAIK, Master is stable and release-based; I just checked
- but if you know how to use git (and Linux), why not use the develop version of sabnzbd? You have the newest stuff, things are stable & good, and if things break (which I don't expect), that's useful info for SABnzbd; you can report it via github or the forum.
- ... and if you use develop, you can use py3 ... the python3 version of SABnzbd. Not yet stable, but OK for downloading and feedback is welcome & needed.
Hydranet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: March 10th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Re: sabnzbd updating

Post by Hydranet »

sander wrote: July 27th, 2019, 12:01 pm
feedmebits wrote: July 27th, 2019, 8:00 am
sander wrote: July 27th, 2019, 7:58 am On which OS are you?
Hey sander,
Thanks for the reply, I am running on CentOS.
Ah, OK. I was asking because on Ubuntu using the SABnzbd PPA will take care of uptodate SABnzbd.

Anyway:
- yes, AFAIK, Master is stable and release-based; I just checked
- but if you know how to use git (and Linux), why not use the develop version of sabnzbd? You have the newest stuff, things are stable & good, and if things break (which I don't expect), that's useful info for SABnzbd; you can report it via github or the forum.
- ... and if you use develop, you can use py3 ... the python3 version of SABnzbd. Not yet stable, but OK for downloading and feedback is welcome & needed.
Yes, why not. I am now running the develop branch and have configured SABnzbd to use python3. Seems like SABnzbd has crashed using python3 with the following error:

Code: Select all

$ /bin/python3 -OO /opt/sabnzbd/SABnzbd.py -f /home/kodi/.sabnzbd/sabnzbd.ini --logging=1 --browser=0
  File "/opt/sabnzbd/SABnzbd.py", line 20
    print "Sorry, requires Python 2.7."
                                      ^
SyntaxError: Missing parentheses in call to 'print'. Did you mean print("Sorry, requires Python 2.7.")?
Seems like in the code version 2.7 is still required, from SABnzbd.py

Code: Select all

if sys.version_info[:2] < (2, 7) or sys.version_info[:2] >= (3, 0):
    print "Sorry, requires Python 2.7."
    sys.exit(1)
I guess that means currently develop branch is still using python 2.7? I'll just use that version for now then.
And lastly why does it say "Update Available! 2.3.9" in the interface while I am running development branch?
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8812
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: sabnzbd updating [CentOS / Linux / git]

Post by sander »

You have to switch the git version from "develop" to "py3". See instructions here: https://github.com/sabnzbd/sabnzbd.gith ... python3.md

As CentOS is in the RedHat family (right), I think this instruction is relevant for you: https://github.com/sabnzbd/sabnzbd.gith ... nstruction .

You do know git, right?
Hydranet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: March 10th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Re: sabnzbd updating [CentOS / Linux / git]

Post by Hydranet »

sander wrote: July 27th, 2019, 2:18 pm You have to switch the git version from "develop" to "py3". See instructions here: https://github.com/sabnzbd/sabnzbd.gith ... python3.md

As CentOS is in the RedHat family (right), I think this instruction is relevant for you: https://github.com/sabnzbd/sabnzbd.gith ... nstruction .

You do know git, right?
Of course I do , I didn't realize the python3 development was being done in a different branch. First time I am using any development version of anything so this will take me a minute ;) I got it running now :)

Code: Select all

Version: 	3.0.0-develop [unknown]
Python Version: 	3.6.8 (default, Apr 25 2019, 21:02:35) [GCC 4.8.5 20150623 (Red Hat 4.8.5-36)] [UTF-8]
Where in the best place on the forums to post an issue if/when I find one.
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8812
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: sabnzbd updating [CentOS / Linux / git]

Post by sander »

OK nice. In the meantime I wrote an instruction for py3-sabnzbd on Centos 7: https://github.com/sabnzbd/sabnzbd.gith ... d#centos-7

Issues: https://github.com/sabnzbd/sabnzbd/issues Please make sure it's SABnzbd-pyhon3-only if you report it like that, and not a generic SABnzbd question / problem / issue.

As said: git-py3 version still has some quirks. But my guesstimate is that a Centos user can handle, analyse and report that. ;)
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8812
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: sabnzbd updating [CentOS / Linux / git]

Post by sander »

There is nice feature in sabnzbd-py3: test your Internet speed. Under the wrench symbol, "Internet Bandwidth", above Test Download
Hydranet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: March 10th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Re: sabnzbd updating [CentOS / Linux / git]

Post by Hydranet »

sander wrote: July 27th, 2019, 3:06 pm OK nice. In the meantime I wrote an instruction for py3-sabnzbd on Centos 7: https://github.com/sabnzbd/sabnzbd.gith ... d#centos-7

Issues: https://github.com/sabnzbd/sabnzbd/issues Please make sure it's SABnzbd-pyhon3-only if you report it like that, and not a generic SABnzbd question / problem / issue.

As said: git-py3 version still has some quirks. But my guesstimate is that a Centos user can handle, analyse and report that. ;)
Thanks, I will do that. Yes probably ;)
Hydranet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: March 10th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Re: sabnzbd updating [CentOS / Linux / git]

Post by Hydranet »

sander wrote: July 27th, 2019, 3:12 pm There is nice feature in sabnzbd-py3: test your Internet speed. Under the wrench symbol, "Internet Bandwidth", above Test Download
I did see that, cool feature!! I also use https://github.com/sivel/speedtest-cli to check the download speeds of my
systems from the terminal :)
Post Reply