[Solved] Pausing Queue doesn't stop SABnzbd from affecting connection

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
Post Reply
HerrKhosse
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: May 5th, 2010, 10:14 am

[Solved] Pausing Queue doesn't stop SABnzbd from affecting connection

Post by HerrKhosse »

My problem in short is, as long as SABnzbd is running, I am getting a latency in games about 150ms, which drop to 35ms when I completely shutdown SABnzbd. Pausing doesnt seem to affect much (I'm capping the speed to a humane level, so bandwith is NOT the problem here).

My suggestion is simply add a flag in the config to completely disconnect Server connection as long as its pausing.
Of course I always could shutdown and restart SAB but I don't get the point to produce unnecessary performance spikes by always restarting the program only if I want some minutes of a lag-free connection.

I do think it's misleading, because I don't think anyone thinks about pausing to still affecting his connection, pausing should be able to stop ANY connection limition whatsoever. Took me quite a while to find out that SAB is producing the problem.

Thanks for any reply

Edit:
Did a simple PING to google.com

With SAB running:

Code: Select all

Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=157ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=25ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=140ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=138ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=139ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=129ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=137ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=140ms TTL=54
With SAB paused:

Code: Select all

Answer from 74.125.39.104: Bytes=32 Time=136ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.104: Bytes=32 Time=24ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.104: Bytes=32 Time=135ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.104: Bytes=32 Time=21ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.104: Bytes=32 Time=108ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.104: Bytes=32 Time=135ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.104: Bytes=32 Time=31ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.104: Bytes=32 Time=133ms TTL=54
Without SAB:

Code: Select all

Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=21ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=24ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=25ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=21ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=23ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=24ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=25ms TTL=54
Answer from 74.125.39.147: Bytes=32 Time=25ms TTL=54
Edit:
On a similar note, when pausing through the HTTP API, sometimes it seems its completey broken, I do have the pause counter counting down and the pause symbol is showing active, but the downloads are still going on. This does not happen when you pause manually. (I did pause manually in the "statistics" above)
Last edited by HerrKhosse on June 17th, 2011, 7:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 19774
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: Pausing Queue doesn't stop SABnzbd from affecting connection

Post by shypike »

First of all, SABnzbd cannot lower the speed with which an article comes in.
It can only request them in a lower tempo.
Second, use the option Config->Switches->"Disconnect on Empty Queue" to break connections when pausing.
Mind that pausing will not stop already requested articles from being handled.
Discarding these doesn't seem like a good idea.

The pause API not working doesn't sound very convincing.
The http request is handled by the same internal webserver
and exactly the same code is executed to do the pause.
I'm not saying it doesn't happen to you, but that would mean that the manual button
would have the same problem.

As far as I know there's no traffic anymore once all the articles have been handled.
You'd need a sniffer to check if there still is any traffic.
BTW: any RSS readouts and NZB fetches will continue unless you use  scheduled pause_all event.
HerrKhosse
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: May 5th, 2010, 10:14 am

Re: Pausing Queue doesn't stop SABnzbd from affecting connection

Post by HerrKhosse »

First 1st: Thanks for the reply.

Second 1st, youre absolutely right, the thing about not pausing has nothing to-do with the HTTP API, maybe it just took a while to download the article, maybe I was just unpatient, same thing happened with manual pause. Will look into if something like this happens again.

Second 2nd, I used a "sniffer".
Even after I successfully paused, something's going on (which disappears when I shut SAB down), in very "rapid" intervals, looks like some sort of handshaking but this definitely is over my network-mojo

TCP from my Usenet Server with info:
nntps > 56971 [ACK] Seq=2066499 Ack=1015 Win=8064 Len=1260
Seq. and Ack. changes, Seq. changes two times for every Ack. there is, or: every Ack. exists with two different Seq., Len(obviously Length?) stays the same

then I seem to answer with something like:
56971 > nntps [ACK] Seq=3455 Ack=18167527

And it repeats, seems to be always two frame to me, one from me.
I guess that's what causes the latency, because it disappears when I shut SAB down.

I definitely had that "Disconnect on empty queue" checked under servers, and I still have.
My "hint" would be that "Disconnect on empty queue" does not count for pausing the queue, even if the description says so :), else, I have no idea.
Last edited by HerrKhosse on May 24th, 2011, 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 19774
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: Pausing Queue doesn't stop SABnzbd from affecting connection

Post by shypike »

The traffic you describe is below the level we control and maybe due to the TCP/IP libraries.
I never really looked at this.

As for the disconnect-on-pause: it really does do that.
If you have "Debug-level" logging on, you'll see "forcing disconnect" messages in the log file.

I cannot tell you what the ACKs are about and why they would cause latency errors.
I never noticed latency issues even when downloading full-throttle.
OK, pinging Google goes from 12 to 23 msec, but it returns to 12 as soon as I pause SABnzbd.
But then I have a 100Mbit/sec symmetric fiber and told my router to give nntp traffic a low QoS.
HerrKhosse
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: May 5th, 2010, 10:14 am

Re: Pausing Queue doesn't stop SABnzbd from affecting connection

Post by HerrKhosse »

I'm definitely with older gear over here, router is something cheap, which works quite good I have to say, with the last firmware update in 2006 :) no QoS-control, ISP is some quite ancient ISDN stuff ;).

All I can say is, it's there, and a latency jump from 25~ to 130~ is unbearable, I did a workaround from my side by writing a client-server thingy which waits for certain pings and shuts down SAB completely for a time and restarts it later.

Maybe I'll need to look into buying a new router, altough, I don't experience any problems like this outside of SAB.
Anyway, seems thats it, thanks for the support.
bluenote
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 57
Joined: November 19th, 2010, 3:28 am

Re: Pausing Queue doesn't stop SABnzbd from affecting connection

Post by bluenote »

You don't happen to have your sab folders elsewhere and this is network traffic based on the sab checking for new NZB's is it?
How much actual bandwidth is this?  I haven't noticed my internet being slower with sab off than when on, and for it to affect latency
it would have to be filling up your outbound bandwidth, or your inbound b/w but that would be even harder...
HerrKhosse
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: May 5th, 2010, 10:14 am

Re: Pausing Queue doesn't stop SABnzbd from affecting connection

Post by HerrKhosse »

Problem solved


I just bought a new router and reduced a switch in between. The funny thing is, when I use a sniffer now, the packets which were constantly sent and sky-rocketed my latency are gone now.
When I pause SAB now, there is no connection whatsoever (except the RSS feeds, but they don't do squiddly) and ping'ing google for example are giving the exact same latency than without.

So I can definitely say it had everything to do with my router/connection set-up.
Altough it seems these things happened at such a low level, that I probably will never find out what really was the cause and honestly, I don't care anymore :).

@bluenote, no that's is and was not the case

Regards,
HerrKhosse
Last edited by HerrKhosse on June 17th, 2011, 7:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply