SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
Rodolpho
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: November 9th, 2011, 4:38 pm

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by Rodolpho » November 14th, 2011, 1:11 pm

At the moment I'm using the Microsoft firewall and Avira Free Antivirus.

I just added weathergirl-ipv6.tele2.net; SABnzbd tested the server and says it is all right (I've not given it some action yet :) )
Rodolpho

User avatar
john3voltas
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 143
Joined: January 17th, 2008, 5:35 pm
Location: Lisbon/Portugal

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by john3voltas » December 6th, 2011, 4:34 pm

I've got a laptop running Debian Squeeze and as soon as I installed miredo I could instantly access IPv6 networks.
But I've also got a small box running Arch Linux and SABnzbd where miredo apparently is not working, at least not working 100% properly.
I installed miredo but I still can't browse IPv6 networks.
I even edited miredo's conf file in Arch to look exactly like Debian's but it still won't work :(.
Can anyone help me?
Cheers

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 6478
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by sander » December 6th, 2011, 4:42 pm

john3voltas wrote:I've got a laptop running Debian Squeeze and as soon as I installed miredo I could instantly access IPv6 networks.
But I've also got a small box running Arch Linux and SABnzbd where miredo apparently is not working, at least not working 100% properly.
I installed miredo but I still can't browse IPv6 networks.
I even edited miredo's conf file in Arch to look exactly like Debian's but it still won't work :(.
Can anyone help me?
Cheers
The Arch Linux:
what does "ifconfig" show? (Post it here)
what does "grep -i miredo /var/log/syslog" show?
how do you start miredo?
is there a firewall on the machine? If so, what happens when you turn the firewall off temporarily?

User avatar
john3voltas
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 143
Joined: January 17th, 2008, 5:35 pm
Location: Lisbon/Portugal

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by john3voltas » December 6th, 2011, 5:03 pm

sander wrote:The Arch Linux:
what does "ifconfig" show? (Post it here)
You woun't believe this: Arch Linux gave up on ifconfig.
Exactly.
It's not available any longer
They say ifconfig will not be developed any further so they ditched it and they use "ip addr" instead.

Code: Select all

[[email protected] ~]# ip addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN 
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:10:75:1a:bd:d7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.99/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global eth0
    inet6 fe80::210:75ff:fe1a:bdd7/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
[[email protected] ~]# ping6 ::1
PING ::1(::1) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from ::1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.093 ms
64 bytes from ::1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.067 ms
64 bytes from ::1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.061 ms
^C
--- ::1 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.061/0.073/0.093/0.017 ms
[[email protected] ~]# 
Notice that I can ping myself in IPv6.
what does "grep -i miredo /var/log/syslog" show?
Here you go:

Code: Select all

[[email protected] ~]# grep -i miredo /var/log/syslog
grep: /var/log/syslog: No such file or directory
how do you start miredo?
Errr, I don't know...
I mean, I thought I just had to install it through pacman (pacman -Sy miredo)
And since I saw the IPv6 address on my eth0 using "ip addr" I thought that miredo was working.
In debian I didn't have to do anything else besides "apt-get install miredo".
is there a firewall on the machine? If so, what happens when you turn the firewall off temporarily?
Now you got me.
I don't know if my Arch is running a firewall or not.
And I'm not Linux experient enough to know.
Besides, maybe you should know: my Arch box doesn't have X11. It doesn't even have a VGA adapter.
It's a little plug device named Seagate Dockstar powered by an ARM CPU running Arch Linux for ARM (aka ALARM).
Wish I could give you more info :(.
Maybe I'll ask down at #archlinux-arm about the firewall.
TIA
Cheers

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 6478
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by sander » December 6th, 2011, 5:11 pm

To check if miredo is running: "ps -ef | grep -i miredo".

If it is NOT running, as root: "miredo -f" to run miredo in the foreground

User avatar
john3voltas
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 143
Joined: January 17th, 2008, 5:35 pm
Location: Lisbon/Portugal

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by john3voltas » December 6th, 2011, 5:13 pm

[[email protected] ~]# ps -ef | grep -i miredo
root 1724 1658 0 22:12 pts/0 00:00:00 grep -i miredo

Guess it's running, right?

EDIT: guys down at ALARM say it doesn't come with a firewall installed by default.

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 6478
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by sander » December 6th, 2011, 5:22 pm

No, it's not running. So manually start it with "miredo -f" (as root!)

If that works, you have to find out how to start miredo as a daemon. On Ubuntu "sudo /etc/init.d/miredo start", but I don't on Arch. Mabye a system restart is enough?

EDIT:

PS https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Daemon shows how to start daemons on Arch. But first run miredo in the foreground.

User avatar
john3voltas
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 143
Joined: January 17th, 2008, 5:35 pm
Location: Lisbon/Portugal

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by john3voltas » December 6th, 2011, 5:30 pm

I would never had suspected that it wasn't running! :o

Code: Select all

[[email protected] ~]# /etc/rc.d/miredo start
:: Starting teredo protocol client                                       [DONE] 
[[email protected] ~]#
[[email protected] ~]# ip addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN 
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:10:75:1a:bd:d7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.99/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global eth0
    inet6 fe80::210:75ff:fe1a:bdd7/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
4: teredo: <POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST,NOARP,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1280 qdisc pfifo_fast state UNKNOWN qlen 500
    link/none 
    inet6 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:14c7:21cf:ae3e:4cb5/32 scope global 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::ffff:ffff:ffff/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
All I have to do to have it start on my system is edit "/etc/rc.conf" and add "miredo" to the "DAEMONS=()".
Thanks sander, you did it man :)

flatounet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: November 7th, 2011, 3:48 am

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by flatounet » December 10th, 2011, 12:05 pm

hi sander , i dont want to abuse but i got probleme too with ipv6 :

Image

in newleecher : 17:55:30 Unable to connect / authenticate server: newszilla6.xs4all.nl @ newszilla6.xs4all.nl (connect: Winsock Resolve Host: Cannot convert host address 'newszilla6.xs4all.nl' - No Data (#11004)).

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/844/comf.png ( [img ] dont work ... copy past link plz ;) )

ipconfig / all :

Microsoft Windows [version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Tous droits réservés.

C:\Users\flat>ipconfig /all

Configuration IP de Windows

Nom de l'hôte . . . . . . . . . . : flat-PC
Suffixe DNS principal . . . . . . :
Type de noeud. . . . . . . . . . : Hybride
Routage IP activé . . . . . . . . : Non
Proxy WINS activé . . . . . . . . : Non

Carte Ethernet Connexion au réseau local 2 :

Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E E
thernet Controller
Adresse physique . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-26-18-23-A0-E0
DHCP activé. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Oui
Configuration automatique activée. . . : Oui
Adresse IPv6 de liaison locale. . . . .: fe80::2444:a5a0:5d00:2b7f%13(préféré
)
Adresse IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.0.11(préféré)
Masque de sous-réseau. . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Bail obtenu. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : samedi 10 décembre 2011 17:47:55
Bail expirant. . . . . . . . . . . . . : samedi 10 décembre 2011 18:47:55
Passerelle par défaut. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Serveur DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
IAID DHCPv6 . . . . . . . . . . . : 301999640
DUID de client DHCPv6. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-75-35-93-74-EA-3A-81-BE
-69
Serveurs DNS. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 89.2.0.1
89.2.0.2
NetBIOS sur Tcpip. . . . . . . . . . . : Activé

Carte Ethernet Connexion au réseau local :

Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Carte réseau Realtek RTL8169/8110 Fa
mily PCI Gigabit Ethernet (NDIS 6.20)
Adresse physique . . . . . . . . . . . : 74-EA-3A-81-BE-69
DHCP activé. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Oui
Configuration automatique activée. . . : Oui

Carte Tunnel isatap.{F4E0C6C8-E350-42FE-8338-36ECF6E5C7F9} :

Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Carte Microsoft ISATAP
Adresse physique . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP activé. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Non
Configuration automatique activée. . . : Oui

Carte Tunnel isatap.{FF0E0795-6483-46AF-B352-3971C1A01604} :

Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Carte Microsoft ISATAP #2
Adresse physique . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP activé. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Non
Configuration automatique activée. . . : Oui

Carte Tunnel Connexion au réseau local* 2 :

Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Adresse physique . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP activé. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Non
Configuration automatique activée. . . : Oui
Adresse IPv6. . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:3cfa:3aad:2a0a:6646
(préféré)
Adresse IPv6 de liaison locale. . . . .: fe80::3cfa:3aad:2a0a:6646%15(préféré
)
Passerelle par défaut. . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS sur TCPIP. . . . . . . . . . . : Désactivé

if you need more info ,ask ;)
thank's for you help mate ;)

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 6478
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by sander » December 10th, 2011, 5:50 pm

@flatounet

That's Windows 7, isn't it?

You have an IPv6 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:3cfa:3aad:2a0a:6646, which is good.
I find it a bit strange that the other interfaces have no fe80:: addresses. And why all the ISATAP-interface? Did you install anything network-special?

OK, now the important questions:
- do you run a non-Microsoft firewall and/or virusscanner? If so, stop it temporarily, and check again on http://test-ipv6.com/
- you are testing this on a home Internet connection, right? Not on a company network with firewall etc?

flatounet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: November 7th, 2011, 3:48 am

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by flatounet » December 12th, 2011, 1:19 am

yes it's windows 7 pro 64

i dont know : i dont have other card ,just the only network card on motherboard.
i just installed windows + official driver for motherboard + video card ...

utorrent for ipv6 : (teredo) and that all ....

no firewall,no antivirus and idk about status of windows firewall...

actually i use 6tunnelNT for get ipv6 link ,

but all ipv6 adress in brower doesn't work :'(

my isp is french numericable

on modem netgear cbvg834g castlenet

firewall and all filter is disable..

mode bridge ( nat mode ) : activated
upnp : disable...

sorry i cant tell you mode info :'(

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 6478
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by sander » December 12th, 2011, 1:30 am

Ah, you use 6tunnelNT. That explains the ISATAP network interfaces.

I have no experience with 6tunnelNT. This thread is about teredo/miredo. Teredo/miredo will not work if another IPv6 (tunnel) technology is active. So: deinstall 6tunnelNT and I can help you with teredo/miredo, or try to get help with 6tunnelNT in a 6tunnelNT forum.

PS: can you post the output of "ipconfig" (without " /all"). And post it as "code" if possible; that gives better formatting.
And what does http://test-ipv6.com/ say you?

flatounet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: November 7th, 2011, 3:48 am

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by flatounet » December 12th, 2011, 6:33 am

Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be 213.245.153.185
Your IPv6 address on the public Internet appears to be 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:95:365b:2a0a:6646
Your IPv6 service appears to be: Teredo
World IPv6 day is June 8th, 2011. No problems are anticipated for you with this browser, at this location. [more info]
You appear to be able to browse the IPv4 Internet only. You will not be able to reach IPv6-only sites.
Your IPv6 connection appears to be using Teredo, a type of IPv4/IPv6 gateway; currently it connects only to direct IP's. Your browser will not be able to go to IPv6 sites by name. This means the current configuration is not useful for browsing IPv6 web sites. [more info]
Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have no access to the IPv6 Internet, or is not configured to use it. This may in the future restrict your ability to reach IPv6-only sites. [more info]
Your readiness scores
10/10 for your IPv4 stability and readiness, when publishers offer both IPv4 and IPv6
0/10 for your IPv6 stability and readiness, when publishers are forced to go IPv6 only

for nt6tunel , i dont have setup an install (just unzip file)

Configuration IP de Windows

Carte Ethernet Connexion au réseau local 2 :

Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
Adresse IPv6 de liaison locale. . . . .: fe80::2444:a5a0:5d00:2b7f%11
Adresse IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.0.11
Masque de sous-réseau. . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Passerelle par défaut. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

Carte Ethernet Connexion au réseau local :

Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :

Carte Tunnel isatap.{FF0E0795-6483-46AF-B352-3971C1A01604} :

Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :

Carte Tunnel isatap.{F4E0C6C8-E350-42FE-8338-36ECF6E5C7F9} :

Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :

Carte Tunnel Connexion au réseau local* 2 :

Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
Adresse IPv6. . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:95:365b:2a0a:6646
Adresse IPv6 de liaison locale. . . . .: fe80::95:365b:2a0a:6646%12
Passerelle par défaut. . . . . . . . . : ::

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 6478
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by sander » December 12th, 2011, 6:57 am

flatounet wrote:Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be 213.245.153.185
Your IPv6 address on the public Internet appears to be 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:95:365b:2a0a:6646
Your IPv6 service appears to be: Teredo
Good! An outside website sees you using IPv6, so you have IPv6 connectivity!

Maybe it's just the name resolving that is not working. To check that, create a new server with 2001:888:0:18::119 both as name and as server, 1 connection (and no port nor username nor password), and test again.

Also interesting: open a CMD-box, type "tracert -d 2001:888:0:18::119" and post the result here.

flatounet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: November 7th, 2011, 3:48 am

Re: SABnzbd and built-in IPv6 (teredo/miredo)

Post by flatounet » December 12th, 2011, 7:17 am

C:\Users\flat>tracert -d 2001:888:0:18::119

Détermination de l'itinéraire vers 2001:888:0:18::119 avec
s.

1 107 ms 19 ms 21 ms 2001:898:2000:f::4
2 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms 2001:898:2000:f::1
3 21 ms 33 ms 31 ms 2001:7f8:1::a500:3265:2
4 20 ms 23 ms 27 ms 2001:888:1:4000::2
5 20 ms 23 ms 21 ms 2001:888:0:18::119

Itinéraire déterminé.

if im not stupid , ipv6 work (tracert an ipv6 , but dns doesn't find ip : when i put newszilla , software dont have the ip , that why ipv6 dosent work ? )

C:\Users\flat>tracert -d newszilla6.xs4all.nl
Impossible de résoudre le nom du système cible newszilla6.xs4all.nl. (unable to find host (name system of aim : newszilla6.....)

i cant find the way to find the "ip" in ipv6 of newszilla , can you get it ? (need it for try mate ;) )

but when i put the adresse in software they are unable to resolve adresse :'( :
13:25:12 Unable to connect / authenticate server: 2001:888:0:18 @ 2001:888:0:18 (connect: Winsock Resolve Host: Cannot convert host address '2001:888:0:18' - No Data (#11004)).


very big thank's for sander , for attention and you help

Post Reply