Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Questions and bug reports for Beta releases should be posted here.
Forum rules
Help us help you:
  • Tell us what system you run SABnzbd on.
  • Adhere to the forum rules.
  • Do you experience problems during downloading?
    Check your connection in Status and Interface settings window.
    Use Test Server in Config > Servers.
    We will probably ask you to do a test using only basic settings.
  • Do you experience problems during repair or unpacking?
    Enable +Debug logging in the Status and Interface settings window and share the relevant parts of the log here using [ code ] sections.
cphmichael
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: May 29th, 2020, 7:48 am

Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by cphmichael »

Version: 3.0.0RC2 [aabb709]

In "Servers > SSL Ciphers" I have entered AES128-SHA, because I would like to:
* Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength.

If I go to "Status and interface options > Connections" when SAB is downloading, it says under SSL:
* TLSv1.3 (TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384)

I have uploaded two screendump to Google Photo:

Servers > SSL Ciphers:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/xKSid1awPNiDEpm7A

Status and interface options > Connections:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/D8jM1qcBweyBJsNy8

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »

What if you fill out BLABLAXYZ as cipher, and try again?

BTW: I myself am not a fan of this feature

cphmichael
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: May 29th, 2020, 7:48 am

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by cphmichael »

It still says "TLSv1.3 (TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384)"

The Test Server button says "Connection Successful!" with the BLABLAXYZ as cipher.

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »

So sab ignores that setting?

cphmichael
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: May 29th, 2020, 7:48 am

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by cphmichael »

It seems so.

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »

When I fill out BLABLAXYZ as cipher, SAB tells me " ('No cipher can be selected.',)". So different than you

When I fill out AES128-SHA, SAB tells me "-[email protected]: Connected using TLSv1.3 (TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384)". So: I can reproduce that.

Weird.

cphmichael
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: May 29th, 2020, 7:48 am

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by cphmichael »

As you can see on this screenshot I have setup NewsDemon and NewsgroupDirect:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/ejgYgGxkG4nra3HX9

I have setup both the US and the EU/NL server.

All 4 servers are setup equally and with AES128-SHA as SSL Ciphers.

As you can see the NewsDemon-EU shows:
* TLSv1.2 (AES128-SHA)

but the NewsDemon-US shows:
* TLSv1.3 (TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384)

When I change the SSL Ciphers to BLABLAXYZ for all 4 servers and click the "Test Server" button, the NewsDemon-EU says:
* [Errno 111] [SSL: SSLV3_ALERT_HANDSHAKE_FAILURE] sslv3 alert handshake failure (_ssl.c:852)

The 3 other servers (NewsDemon-US, NewsgroupDirect-NL, NewsgroupDirect-US) all says:
* Connection Successful!

It seems like it has something to do with the TLSv1.2 / TLSv1.3

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »

cphmichael wrote:
July 22nd, 2020, 3:13 am


It seems like it has something to do with the TLSv1.2 / TLSv1.3
That was my thought too ... maybe with (python) TLS 1.3 you cannot specify the cipher ... ? Very long shot, but worth verifying. Or, less long shot: specifying the cipher must be done in a different way for TLS 1.3 and/or Python3?

Or: it works, but the reporting is incorrect ...

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »

I made a test program

Code: Select all

import socket, ssl
import pprint
import sys

context = ssl.create_default_context()
#cipher = 'DHE-RSA-AES128-SHA:DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256'
cipher = 'AES128-SHA'
context.set_ciphers(cipher)
s = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_STREAM)
#domain = 'google.com'
domain = sys.argv[1]
try:
        port = int(sys.argv[2])
except:
        port = 443 # default HTTPS port

sslSocket = context.wrap_socket(s, server_hostname = domain)
sslSocket.connect((domain, port))
if False:
        pprint.pprint(context.get_ciphers())
for i in context.get_ciphers():
        print("\n",i)
print("\n\nsslSocket.cipher():", sslSocket.cipher())

sslSocket.close()
print('closed')

With google, AES128-SHA seems to be there, but the resulting connection is TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384


Code: Select all

$ python3 testje1.py google.nl 443

 {'id': 50336514, 'name': 'TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384', 'protocol': 'TLSv1.3', 'description': 'TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384  TLSv1.3 Kx=any      Au=any  Enc=AESGCM(256) Mac=AEAD', 'strength_bits': 256, 'alg_bits': 256, 'aead': True, 'symmetric': 'aes-256-gcm', 'digest': None, 'kea': 'kx-any', 'auth': 'auth-any'}
 {'id': 50336515, 'name': 'TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256', 'protocol': 'TLSv1.3', 'description': 'TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256 TLSv1.3 Kx=any      Au=any  Enc=CHACHA20/POLY1305(256) Mac=AEAD', 'strength_bits': 256, 'alg_bits': 256, 'aead': True, 'symmetric': 'chacha20-poly1305', 'digest': None, 'kea': 'kx-any', 'auth': 'auth-any'}
 {'id': 50336513, 'name': 'TLS_AES_128_GCM_SHA256', 'protocol': 'TLSv1.3', 'description': 'TLS_AES_128_GCM_SHA256  TLSv1.3 Kx=any      Au=any  Enc=AESGCM(128) Mac=AEAD', 'strength_bits': 128, 'alg_bits': 128, 'aead': True, 'symmetric': 'aes-128-gcm', 'digest': None, 'kea': 'kx-any', 'auth': 'auth-any'}
 {'id': 50331695, 'name': 'AES128-SHA', 'protocol': 'SSLv3', 'description': 'AES128-SHA              SSLv3 Kx=RSA      Au=RSA  Enc=AES(128)  Mac=SHA1', 'strength_bits': 128, 'alg_bits': 128, 'aead': False, 'symmetric': 'aes-128-cbc', 'digest': 'sha1', 'kea': 'kx-rsa', 'auth': 'auth-rsa'}
sslSocket.cipher(): ('TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384', 'TLSv1.3', 256)
closed
With eweka, also TLS1.3 is there, but connection is AES128-SHA is achieved:

Code: Select all

$ python3 testje1.py newsreader.eweka.nl 563

 {'id': 50336514, 'name': 'TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384', 'protocol': 'TLSv1.3', 'description': 'TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384  TLSv1.3 Kx=any      Au=any  Enc=AESGCM(256) Mac=AEAD', 'strength_bits': 256, 'alg_bits': 256, 'aead': True, 'symmetric': 'aes-256-gcm', 'digest': None, 'kea': 'kx-any', 'auth': 'auth-any'}

 {'id': 50336515, 'name': 'TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256', 'protocol': 'TLSv1.3', 'description': 'TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256 TLSv1.3 Kx=any      Au=any  Enc=CHACHA20/POLY1305(256) Mac=AEAD', 'strength_bits': 256, 'alg_bits': 256, 'aead': True, 'symmetric': 'chacha20-poly1305', 'digest': None, 'kea': 'kx-any', 'auth': 'auth-any'}

 {'id': 50336513, 'name': 'TLS_AES_128_GCM_SHA256', 'protocol': 'TLSv1.3', 'description': 'TLS_AES_128_GCM_SHA256  TLSv1.3 Kx=any      Au=any  Enc=AESGCM(128) Mac=AEAD', 'strength_bits': 128, 'alg_bits': 128, 'aead': True, 'symmetric': 'aes-128-gcm', 'digest': None, 'kea': 'kx-any', 'auth': 'auth-any'}

 {'id': 50331695, 'name': 'AES128-SHA', 'protocol': 'SSLv3', 'description': 'AES128-SHA              SSLv3 Kx=RSA      Au=RSA  Enc=AES(128)  Mac=SHA1', 'strength_bits': 128, 'alg_bits': 128, 'aead': False, 'symmetric': 'aes-128-cbc', 'digest': 'sha1', 'kea': 'kx-rsa', 'auth': 'auth-rsa'}

sslSocket.cipher(): ('AES128-SHA', 'SSLv3', 128)
closed
Oh wait: eweka does not offer TLS1.3 at all. So that the above test method is not relevant.

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »

Testing without SAB and without Python ... seems to confirm: with TLS1.3 you cannot specify the cipher. At least: with openssl.

With TLS1.2 specified, the specified cipher is obeyed:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~$ echo "QUIT" | openssl s_client -cipher 'AES256-SHA' -connect us.newsdemon.com:563 -tls1_2  2>&1 | grep -i cipher
New, SSLv3, Cipher is AES256-SHA
    Cipher    : AES256-SHA

[email protected]:~$ echo "QUIT" | openssl s_client -cipher 'AES128-SHA' -connect us.newsdemon.com:563 -tls1_2  2>&1 | grep -i cipher
New, SSLv3, Cipher is AES128-SHA
    Cipher    : AES128-SHA

[email protected]:~$ echo "QUIT" | openssl s_client -cipher 'AES256-CCM8' -connect us.newsdemon.com:563 -tls1_2  2>&1 | grep -i cipher
New, TLSv1.2, Cipher is AES256-CCM8
    Cipher    : AES256-CCM8

[email protected]:~$ echo "QUIT" | openssl s_client -cipher 'CAMELLIA256-SHA' -connect us.newsdemon.com:563 -tls1_2  2>&1 | grep -i cipher
New, SSLv3, Cipher is CAMELLIA256-SHA
    Cipher    : CAMELLIA256-SHA

With TLS1.3, the specified cipher is ignored:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~$ echo "QUIT" | openssl s_client -cipher 'CAMELLIA256-SHA' -connect us.newsdemon.com:563 -tls1_3  2>&1 | grep -i cipher
New, TLSv1.3, Cipher is TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384
[email protected]:~$ echo "QUIT" | openssl s_client -cipher 'AES128-SHA' -connect us.newsdemon.com:563 -tls1_3  2>&1 | grep -i cipher
New, TLSv1.3, Cipher is TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384
[email protected]:~$ echo "QUIT" | openssl s_client -cipher 'AES256-SHA' -connect us.newsdemon.com:563 -tls1_3  2>&1 | grep -i cipher
New, TLSv1.3, Cipher is TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384
So: not a python / SABnzbd thing.

I don't know if it's a TLS1.3 thing, or a openssl thing.

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »

Using gnutls, it seems you can influence the cipher with TLS1.3. If so and if my method is correct, the problem is in openssl

Code: Select all

$ echo "quit" | gnutls-cli --verbose --priority SECURE128:-AES-256-GCM us.newsdemon.com:563 | grep -i -e cipher -e tls
			Key encipherment.
			TLS WWW Server.
			TLS WWW Client.
- Description: (TLS1.3-X.509)-(ECDHE-SECP256R1)-(RSA-PSS-RSAE-SHA256)-(CHACHA20-POLY1305)
- Version: TLS1.3
- Cipher: CHACHA20-POLY1305
- Channel binding 'tls-unique': 
- Peer has closed the GnuTLS connection

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »

Interesting info on https://wiki.openssl.org/index.php/TLS1.3#Ciphersuites

OpenSSL has implemented support for five TLSv1.3 ciphersuites as follows:

TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384
TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256
TLS_AES_128_GCM_SHA256
TLS_AES_128_CCM_8_SHA256
TLS_AES_128_CCM_SHA256
Due to the major differences between the way that ciphersuites for TLSv1.2 and below and ciphersuites for TLSv1.3 work, they are configured in OpenSSL differently too.

By default the first three of the above ciphersuites are enabled by default. This means that if you have no explicit ciphersuite configuration then you will automatically use those three and will be able to negotiate TLSv1.3. Note that changing the TLSv1.2 and below cipher list has no impact on the TLSv1.3 ciphersuite configuration.

Applications should use the SSL_CTX_set_ciphersuites() or SSL_set_ciphersuites() functions to configure TLSv1.3 ciphersuites. Note that the functions SSL_CTX_get_ciphers() and SSL_get_ciphers() will return the full list of ciphersuites that have been configured for both TLSv1.2 and below and TLSv1.3.

For the OpenSSL command line applications there is a new "-ciphersuites" option to configure the TLSv1.3 ciphersuite list. This is just a simple colon (":") separated list of TLSv1.3 ciphersuite names in preference order. Note that you cannot use the special characters such as "+", "!", "-" etc, that you can for defining TLSv1.2 ciphersuites. In practice this is not likely to be a problem because there are only a very small number of TLSv1.3 ciphersuites.

For example:

$ openssl s_server -cert mycert.pem -key mykey.pem -cipher ECDHE -ciphersuites "TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384:TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256"

This will configure OpenSSL to use any ECDHE based ciphersuites for TLSv1.2 and below. For TLSv1.3 the TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384 and TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256 ciphersuites will be available.

Note that all of the above applies to the "ciphers" command line application as well. This can sometimes lead to surprising results. For example this command:

$ openssl ciphers -s -v ECDHE

Will list all the ciphersuites for TLSv1.2 and below that support ECDHE and additionally all of the default TLSv1.3 ciphersuites. Use the "-ciphersuites" option to further configure the TLSv1.3 ciphersuites.

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »

Based on that info:

$ echo "QUIT" | openssl s_client -connect us.newsdemon.com:563 -tls1_3 2>&1 | grep -i cipher
New, TLSv1.3, Cipher is TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384

$ echo "QUIT" | openssl s_client -ciphersuites "TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256" -connect us.newsdemon.com:563 -tls1_3 2>&1 | grep -i cipherNew, TLSv1.3, Cipher is TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256

That works! ... so for TLS1.3, openssl CLI version wants a different CLI option.



OK, now back to python:

At first glance at https://docs.python.org/3/library/ssl.html https://docs.python.org/3/library/ssl.html#tls-1-3 I found this:

TLS 1.3¶
New in version 3.7.

Python has provisional and experimental support for TLS 1.3 with OpenSSL 1.1.1. The new protocol behaves slightly differently than previous version of TLS/SSL. Some new TLS 1.3 features are not yet available.

TLS 1.3 uses a disjunct set of cipher suites. All AES-GCM and ChaCha20 cipher suites are enabled by default. The method SSLContext.set_ciphers() cannot enable or disable any TLS 1.3 ciphers yet, but SSLContext.get_ciphers() returns them.

Ah.... That explains all, doesn't it?

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »

TL;DR; with python openssl, you can not (yet) specifly the cipher for TLS1.3 connections.

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7229
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Increase performance by forcing a lower SSL encryption strength

Post by sander »


Post Reply