Can't access SAB from within LAN

Get help with all aspects of SABnzbd
Forum rules
Help us help you:
  • Are you using the latest stable version of SABnzbd? Downloads page.
  • Tell us what system you run SABnzbd on.
  • Adhere to the forum rules.
  • Do you experience problems during downloading?
    Check your connection in Status and Interface settings window.
    Use Test Server in Config > Servers.
    We will probably ask you to do a test using only basic settings.
  • Do you experience problems during repair or unpacking?
    Enable +Debug logging in the Status and Interface settings window and share the relevant parts of the log here using [ code ] sections.
goodtimes50
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: September 26th, 2014, 7:58 am

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by goodtimes50 »

Okay, so it turns out the SAB entry in the Firewall was for the application (SABnzbd.exe) and I'm using the service (SABnzbd-service.exe). Creating an entry for the service fixed it. Thanks for your help!
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8829
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by sander »

goodtimes50 wrote:Okay, so it turns out the SAB entry in the Firewall was for the application (SABnzbd.exe) and I'm using the service (SABnzbd-service.exe). Creating an entry for the service fixed it. Thanks for your help!
Aha, interesting analysis & information.

Good that it works now.
Benzima
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: January 16th, 2013, 7:15 am

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by Benzima »

Guys and Gals...this was so simple. I tried all the netstat stuff and I'm sure it's correct but I couldn't get it to work for me. I tried to follow the logic of this thread and one other which basically showed how to use netstat. Here's what worked for me and a few notes on the strategy.

Computer A:
Determine the IP of computer A. Lots of ways to do this, I did it via the router interface.
Let's say Computer A IP is 192.168.1.10
Install sabnzbd, etc. blah, blah, blah.
Go to Config/General. You will see SABnzbd Host and SABnzbd Port
Record the SABnzbd Port (default is 8080, I think)
Change SABnzbd Host from 127.0.0.1 (default) to 0.0.0.0 and restart SABnzbd


Computer B
In your web browser input 192.168.1.10:8080. This is the IP of the computer actually running SABnzbd.

BAM!!!

I sure aint no expert at net stuff but here's what I think is happening. Computer A is now set up for listening (for some reason it seems to me, listening/talking but...) on all ports. The default of 127.0.0.1 only allows listening/talking on the local computer but by changing it from 127.0.0.1 to 0.0.0.0 that allows listening/talking on all computers connected to your LAN. Then you can go to computer B, input the IP and port number for the computer actually running SABnzbd and you can access that webpage but you have to know computer A's IP and the port number SABnzbd is listening/talking on, hence the first steps for computer A.

Seems too simple to be true. I could be dead wrong about all or part of this but it seems to be working for me.

Thanxxx to everyone that posted here. Great program, great community.
Oxan31
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: December 16th, 2017, 3:12 am

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by Oxan31 »

goodtimes50 wrote: August 20th, 2016, 11:55 am Okay, so it turns out the SAB entry in the Firewall was for the application (SABnzbd.exe) and I'm using the service (SABnzbd-service.exe). Creating an entry for the service fixed it. Thanks for your help!
This has solved my problem Thanks!
n2thetaboo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: February 5th, 2020, 6:33 pm

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by n2thetaboo »

sander wrote: August 19th, 2016, 6:34 am
goodtimes50 wrote:Thought about starting a new thread, but since this is near the top and I have the same issue I'll just post here. The only difference is that none of the suggestions here work. I did a fresh install of the Anniversary Update in Win 10 and reinstalled SAB. I restored sabnzbd.ini from a backup (which was working fine) and I'm unable to access SAB from any other device on my LAN. I've tried setting the host to 127.0.0.1, 0.0.0.0. and the IP of the machine it's on. I've tried various (unused) ports, including 8080. I've set the "List of local network ranges" and left it blank. Windows firewall is set to allow SAB. Nothing works. Any other suggestions?
Start with the low-level basics:

Find PID (Process ID) of SABnzbd on your Windows:

Code: Select all

C:\>tasklist | find /i "sabnzbd"
SABnzbd.exe                   6264 Console                    1    36.176 kB
With that PID (in my case: 6264), find the listening host:

Code: Select all

C:\>netstat -aon | find "6264"
TCP    0.0.0.0:8080           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING       6264
TCP    [::]:8080              [::]:0                 LISTENING       6264
Report that here

I'm running in a similar issue. At this point I've tried every combination below that I can think of, but when I run this code I get the usual TCP, internal, and then what appears to be an external IP as it doesn't even being with 192.

Code: Select all

  TCP    127.0.0.1:443          0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING       12140
  TCP    127.0.0.1:38080        0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING       12140
  TCP    192.168.1.132:53383    xxx.xxx.xx.xx:563      ESTABLISHED     12140
  TCP    192.168.1.132:53384    xxx.xxx.xx.xx:563      ESTABLISHED     12140
  TCP    192.168.1.132:53385    xxx.xxx.xx.xx:563      ESTABLISHED     12140
  TCP    192.168.1.132:53386    xxx.xxx.xx.xx:563      ESTABLISHED     12140
  TCP    192.168.1.132:53387    xxx.xxx.xx.xx:563      ESTABLISHED     12140
  
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8829
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by sander »

If PID 12140 is SABnzbd, the output means:

SABnzbd is listening on 127.0.0.1, which means localhost only, so you can't access it from any other device on your LAN, let alone from WAN. You have to change that in SABnzbd.: config/general/ -> SABnzbd Host change to 0.0.0.0, save & restart

SABnzbd is listening on port 443 (HTTPS) and port 38080 (you changed that yourself, as default is 8080)

The 563's is SABnzbd talking to the specificied newsservers via NNTPS (which is good)
n2thetaboo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: February 5th, 2020, 6:33 pm

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by n2thetaboo »

sander wrote: February 6th, 2020, 5:51 am If PID 12140 is SABnzbd, the output means:

SABnzbd is listening on 127.0.0.1, which means localhost only, so you can't access it from any other device on your LAN, let alone from WAN. You have to change that in SABnzbd.: config/general/ -> SABnzbd Host change to 0.0.0.0, save & restart

SABnzbd is listening on port 443 (HTTPS) and port 38080 (you changed that yourself, as default is 8080)

The 563's is SABnzbd talking to the specificied newsservers via NNTPS (which is good)
Thank you for your help, but when I did that nzb360 gave me the error "Failed to connect to primary address. Try again? I've tried both http://0.0.0.0:38080 and https://0.0.0.0:443. When I run the command line again I get the following:

Code: Select all


C:\>netstat -aon | find "10832"
  TCP    0.0.0.0:443            0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING       10832
  TCP    0.0.0.0:38080          0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING       10832
  TCP    127.0.0.1:443          127.0.0.1:57115        ESTABLISHED     10832
  
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8829
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by sander »

n2thetaboo wrote: February 7th, 2020, 5:37 pm
Thank you for your help, but when I did that nzb360 gave me the error "Failed to connect to primary address. Try again? I've tried both http://0.0.0.0:38080 and https://0.0.0.0:443. When I run the command line again I get the following:
At that place, you have to fill out the LAN ip address of your SABnzbd machine (like 192.168.x.y), which you can find on that machine: in SABnzbd, or with "ipconfig" (or "ifconfig" on linux/MacOSX) on the command line

Note: this will only work if you phone is connected to your LAN/WLAN.
n2thetaboo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: February 5th, 2020, 6:33 pm

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by n2thetaboo »

sander wrote: February 8th, 2020, 12:51 am
n2thetaboo wrote: February 7th, 2020, 5:37 pm
Thank you for your help, but when I did that nzb360 gave me the error "Failed to connect to primary address. Try again? I've tried both http://0.0.0.0:38080 and https://0.0.0.0:443. When I run the command line again I get the following:
At that place, you have to fill out the LAN ip address of your SABnzbd machine (like 192.168.x.y), which you can find on that machine: in SABnzbd, or with "ipconfig" (or "ifconfig" on linux/MacOSX) on the command line

Note: this will only work if you phone is connected to your LAN/WLAN.
RIght? And that's what I've tried based on the findings below, but I receive the same error when using the internal IP. I've tried https and http using both 192.168.x.x: 443 and 38080 as my options. Keep in mind that the second set of IPs appear to be external IPs which is why they are masked. I'm not sure why running the blow returns both an internal and external address. Perhaps it is because I have it set up as a routed bridge.

Code: Select all

  TCP    127.0.0.1:443          0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING       12140
  TCP    127.0.0.1:38080        0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING       12140
  TCP    192.168.1.132:53383    xxx.xxx.xx.xx:563      ESTABLISHED     12140
  TCP    192.168.1.132:53384    xxx.xxx.xx.xx:563      ESTABLISHED     12140
  TCP    192.168.1.132:53385    xxx.xxx.xx.xx:563      ESTABLISHED     12140
  TCP    192.168.1.132:53386    xxx.xxx.xx.xx:563      ESTABLISHED     12140
  TCP    192.168.1.132:53387    xxx.xxx.xx.xx:563      ESTABLISHED     12140
  
[/code.
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8829
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by sander »

Sorry, I find it too hard to help you.
User avatar
safihre
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5362
Joined: April 30th, 2015, 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by safihre »

So, you tried from you external device https://192.168.1.132:443 and http://192.168.1.132:38080 ?
Seems 192.168.1.132 is the IP of your device that SABnzbd is running on.
And you have made a firewall rule to allow 443 and 38080 to be accessed externally?
If you like our support, check our special newsserver deal or donate at: https://sabnzbd.org/donate
guitarboy
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 69
Joined: January 7th, 2010, 2:44 am

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by guitarboy »

After the latest major release of Windows 10 (October 2020) I'm no longer able to access SAB from other devices on my LAN, including iOS and Android devices. Nothing changed except the Windows update. I tried changing the SABnzbd Host to 0.0.0.0 (previously it was the host name of the Windows machine running SAB). Firewall entries all seem to be ok and the SAB Web interface runs fine on the host computer. I've tried both the hostname and the IP address of the host computer in the SAB url on the remote devices and I've confirmed that I'm using the correct port.

The error I'm getting is "This site can't be reached - http://192.168.1.68:31526/sabnzbd/ is unreachable".

Any one else experiencing a problem with latest Windows?
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8829
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by sander »

guitarboy wrote: October 2nd, 2020, 12:14 pm The error I'm getting is "This site can't be reached - http://192.168.1.68:31526/sabnzbd/ is unreachable".

Any one else experiencing a problem with latest Windows?
On the Windows machine:
In SABnzbd's upper right corner, click on the wrench symbol ("Status and interface options"), then click on first tab Status, what does it say at Local IPv4 address?
and: from that machine, can you access http://192.168.1.68:31526/sabnzbd/ ?
guitarboy
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 69
Joined: January 7th, 2010, 2:44 am

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by guitarboy »

and: from that machine, can you access http://192.168.1.68:31526/sabnzbd/ ?
Local IPv4 address is 192.168.1.68.

By "...from that machine", do you mean the machine at the IPv4 address? That is the Windows machine running SABnzbd, and yes I can access http://192.168.1.68:31526/sabnzbd/ from that machine.

The "unreachable" error I'm getting is on the iOS and Android devices.
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8829
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Can't access SAB from within LAN

Post by sander »

Ah, OK. Then I don't know; I am not a regular Windows user
Post Reply