Upgrading a Git repository

Get help with all aspects of SABnzbd
Forum rules
Help us help you:
  • Are you using the latest stable version of SABnzbd? Downloads page.
  • Tell us what system you run SABnzbd on.
  • Adhere to the forum rules.
  • Do you experience problems during downloading?
    Check your connection in Status and Interface settings window.
    Use Test Server in Config > Servers.
    We will probably ask you to do a test using only basic settings.
  • Do you experience problems during repair or unpacking?
    Enable +Debug logging in the Status and Interface settings window and share the relevant parts of the log here using [ code ] sections.
Post Reply
pjmeli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: June 1st, 2019, 4:09 pm

Upgrading a Git repository

Post by pjmeli »

I need some help.

I'm a noob wrt Git and running sabnzbd from a local Git repository.

I've been running SAB successfully running v2.3.8 from what (I think) is the Git Master in a folder on my Raspberry Pi

I did a Git pull request to update to 2.3.9 because my SAB install keeps throwing a warning that 2.3.9 is available…

After a restart I'm still running the same version 2.3.8. When I do another git pull it says I am already running the latest version.

What am I not seeing?

Regards,
Paul
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 8829
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Upgrading a Git repository

Post by sander »

Which command do you use to run Sab?
Puzzled
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 160
Joined: September 2nd, 2017, 3:02 am

Re: Upgrading a Git repository

Post by Puzzled »

Maybe you're on a tag, or maybe you're on a local branch that's not connected to the remote. What does "git branch -a" say?
pjmeli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: June 1st, 2019, 4:09 pm

Re: Upgrading a Git repository

Post by pjmeli »

Which command do you use to run Sab?
It's set up to run on startup.
pjmeli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: June 1st, 2019, 4:09 pm

Re: Upgrading a Git repository

Post by pjmeli »

What does "git branch -a" say?
Interesting:

Code: Select all

fatal: Not a git repository (or any of the parent directories): .git
Odd, because it runs fine. I must have set up my local repository incorrectly.

I put a Git directory in my ~/pi folder and:

Code: Select all

git clone https://githubdotcom/sabnzbd/sabnzbd.git (I can't post links)
cd sabnzbd
git checkout master
Then I figured out how to get it to run @ startup
pjmeli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: June 1st, 2019, 4:09 pm

Re: Upgrading a Git repository

Post by pjmeli »

OK I fixed it.

Created a new local repository using the code above, copied my sabnzbd.ini into the new repository and restarted:

Code: Select all

service sabnzbdplus restart
I think what I did wrong originally was to clone the repository without executing:

Code: Select all

git checkout master
Post Reply