Mediaconverter

Report & discuss bugs found in SABnzbd
Forum rules
Help us help you:
  • Are you using the latest stable version of SABnzbd? Downloads page.
  • Tell us what system you run SABnzbd on.
  • Adhere to the forum rules.
  • Do you experience problems during downloading?
    Check your connection in Status and Interface settings window.
    Use Test Server in Config > Servers.
    We will probably ask you to do a test using only basic settings.
  • Do you experience problems during repair or unpacking?
    Enable +Debug logging in the Status and Interface settings window and share the relevant parts of the log here using [ code ] sections.
Post Reply
User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7661
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Mediaconverter

Post by sander »

hypersucker wrote:
May 31st, 2021, 9:47 am
something completely different: whenever I start sabnzbd, my internet connection dies. I dont mean slows down. it dies. my 10Gbit fiber goes nukey nuke. I am pretty sure it is not my very expensive router, all other services including torrent clients with thousands of open connections work just fine. it must be something specific sabnzb does to the media converter (the device converting the fiber to lan copper) since every time I start sabnzb, the router sees nothing behind the converter and only once I power cycle the converter, the router connects to the net again and gets IP and all.
I'll replace the converter and the spf module but still, kinda strange aint it?
10Gbps? Nice!

SAB affecting the mediaconverter ... Seems nearly impossible to me. And if so, it's a bug in the mediaconverter. That would be interesting.

Anyway: does it happen if SABnzbd only has one server with one connection ... ?

hypersucker
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: September 15th, 2019, 6:00 pm

Re: Mediaconverter

Post by hypersucker »

I know what you mean. especially since it used to work just fine in the exact same constellation for months/years. It just stated to happen the last 2 weeks. and it's most likely one of those correlation and causality thing but still, mighty strange it is. as soon as I unpause sabnzb my converter releases all connections and needs a power-cycle.

I'll test the one server one connection thing.

hypersucker
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: September 15th, 2019, 6:00 pm

Re: Mediaconverter

Post by hypersucker »

10Gbps? Nice!
I know, right? and for like $30 bucks unlimited and unmetered. for real.

hypersucker
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: September 15th, 2019, 6:00 pm

Re: Mediaconverter

Post by hypersucker »

it works fine now since I threw the media converter at the wall. I'll test it if it ever starts happening again :-)

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7661
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Mediaconverter

Post by sander »

hypersucker wrote:
June 1st, 2021, 2:15 pm
it works fine now since I threw the media converter at the wall. I'll test it if it ever starts happening again :-)
Sounds great ... but how is your connection working without a media converter? Or did you get another one ... ?

hypersucker
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: September 15th, 2019, 6:00 pm

Re: Mediaconverter

Post by hypersucker »

I'll get a spare one tomorrow. but the one thrown at the wall works fine just now. whatever was loose or wrong got set right. at least for now lol

hypersucker
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: September 15th, 2019, 6:00 pm

Re: Mediaconverter

Post by hypersucker »

So. It was a bent LWL fiber cable.

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7661
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Mediaconverter

Post by sander »

Ouch

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 7661
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: Mediaconverter

Post by sander »

Oh, and what SAB speed do you get on your 10Gbps connection? With what CPU and Disk hardware

hypersucker
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: September 15th, 2019, 6:00 pm

Re: Mediaconverter

Post by hypersucker »

oh I cap it but I almost always max out my 350MB/s cap. I guess I should kill the cap and see what more could be squeezed out of the setup lol.

i7, 128GB RAM, downloads to an M2 SSD.

Post Reply