set priority of Backup Server

Want something added? Ask for it here.
User avatar
Widofnir
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: February 3rd, 2012, 3:20 am

set priority of Backup Server

Post by Widofnir » February 3rd, 2012, 3:29 am

Hello there,

I have following suggestion:

Feature Request: set priority of Backup Server
Reason: I am using 2 Backup servers. Would be great, if I could set a priority for those. For example: first try downloading from Backup-Server #1. If Article not found, try BackUp Server #2.

Kind regards,
Widofnir

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21039
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by shypike » February 3rd, 2012, 10:46 am

It's on the wishlist, but not for the short term.
I do understand the reasons for wanting it.

User avatar
Widofnir
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: February 3rd, 2012, 3:20 am

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by Widofnir » February 5th, 2012, 5:49 am

Ah, good to know.
Thanks for the fast reply :).

Kind regards,
Widofnir

Gigahertz21
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: June 19th, 2011, 3:27 am

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by Gigahertz21 » February 26th, 2012, 3:27 am

I was about to post this request and saw it, I can't believe Sab doesn't have this. Is the programming really that hard just to give us the ability to set the priority of servers? Sab has all these advanced features and yet it's missing this one core feature.... ???

Don't get me wrong, Sab is free and I appreciate the developers taking their time to code this software, but you got to add this core feature. Having 5 backup servers and no way to set their priority is a bummer :'(

Shypike........safe ussssssss, code this in ;D

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21039
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by shypike » February 26th, 2012, 5:22 am

People have different needs and most don't have 5 backup servers.
As this is a volunteers project, things only happen when someone
is motivated enough to delve into it.
The code involved is particularly nasty to change.
(It had to be to be able to get any download performance, which isn't SABnzbd's strongest feature anyway).
It won't happen for 0.7.0 for which Beta testing will start soon.
But given the current state of Usenet fill rates, it will need to happen after that.

Gigahertz21
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: June 19th, 2011, 3:27 am

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by Gigahertz21 » February 26th, 2012, 4:24 pm

shypike wrote:People have different needs and most don't have 5 backup servers.
As this is a volunteers project, things only happen when someone
is motivated enough to delve into it.
The code involved is particularly nasty to change.
(It had to be to be able to get any download performance, which isn't SABnzbd's strongest feature anyway).
It won't happen for 0.7.0 for which Beta testing will start soon.
But given the current state of Usenet fill rates, it will need to happen after that.
Well that sucks. Hope to see the feature soon though, I downloaded a nzb last night that my main server (Astraweb) couldn't complete and Sab had to use some of my backup servers to fill in the gaps. Everybody should have 2 or more backup servers, it really helps out with eliminating in-completions.

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21039
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by shypike » February 27th, 2012, 5:10 am

Gigahertz21 wrote:Everybody should have 2 or more backup servers, it really helps out with eliminating in-completions.
Your mileage may vary.
I have very little trouble when I use only Supernews.
I do have the EU server as primary and the US server as backup.
Astraweb is deteriorating though, personally I have had dismal speeds over the last few weeks.
I didn't check completion rates for it.

Gigahertz21
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: June 19th, 2011, 3:27 am

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by Gigahertz21 » February 27th, 2012, 4:43 pm

shypike wrote:
Gigahertz21 wrote:Everybody should have 2 or more backup servers, it really helps out with eliminating in-completions.
Your mileage may vary.
I have very little trouble when I use only Supernews.
I do have the EU server as primary and the US server as backup.
Astraweb is deteriorating though, personally I have had dismal speeds over the last few weeks.
I didn't check completion rates for it.
Does using the EU and US server for the same provider actually do anything? Like have you noticed Sab ever going to your US server and filling something if it couldn't find it on the EU server? I would think when a provider gets a DMCA take down request they would eliminate the post from all their servers, but maybe not? ???

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21039
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by shypike » February 27th, 2012, 6:05 pm

DMCA is valid in the US only, so maybe they leave the EU server alone.

Gigahertz21
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: June 19th, 2011, 3:27 am

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by Gigahertz21 » February 27th, 2012, 8:14 pm

shypike wrote:DMCA is valid in the US only, so maybe they leave the EU server alone.
Well have you noticed if Sab has ever used your US secondary server to fill in something it couldn't find on your EU primary server?

Gigahertz21
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: June 19th, 2011, 3:27 am

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by Gigahertz21 » July 6th, 2012, 5:39 am

Bump for this 5 month old thread, glad this feature is on the road map (http://wiki.sabnzbd.org/roadmap). I'm surprised server priorities were not used in the first place when coding Sab, most newsreaders have had this core feature for a long time, about time Sab catches up ;D

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21039
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by shypike » July 6th, 2012, 6:11 am

It has server priorities: primary and backup.

matt314159
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: February 13th, 2010, 2:45 am

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by matt314159 » January 12th, 2013, 8:31 pm

With recent changes in how quickly articles are being removed lately, is there any sort of push to raise this as a priority? It's getting to where with some things, you can't even download something the day after it was released, because too many parts have already been removed. I was previously using frugalusenet primary, astra block secondary, but even that's not quite enough these days. It would be nice to be able to add a second backup account such as tweaknews or some other dutch provider, but they're generally more expensive than my astra block account, so I'd like to prioritize things in order of cost.

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21039
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by shypike » January 13th, 2013, 2:56 am

See roadmap http://wiki.sabnzbd.org/roadmap
But don't hold your breath.

matt314159
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: February 13th, 2010, 2:45 am

Re: set priority of Backup Server

Post by matt314159 » January 13th, 2013, 3:25 am

Yup, its linked two posts up... I saw it.

Post Reply