Media Rover

Got a program that plays well with SABnzbd? Share it here!
User avatar
kierse
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 254
Joined: March 5th, 2009, 11:59 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Media Rover

Post by kierse »

Hey pilGrim,
pilGrim wrote: http://www.newzbin.com/browse/post/#######/nzb/ - URL Fetching failed; Unusable NZB file
Sorry for the late reply, I've confirmed that this is an issue (as I can reproduce it).  I'll take a look and hopefully have a fix for you shortly.

Kierse

pilGrim
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 116
Joined: January 9th, 2009, 7:28 pm
Location: Hong Kong, SAR China

Re: Media Rover

Post by pilGrim »

kierse wrote:
Sorry for the late reply, I've confirmed that this is an issue (as I can reproduce it).  I'll take a look and hopefully have a fix for you shortly.

Kierse
Hi Kierse,

No worries.  All is working fine except for two issues:

- the newzbin issue above
- Using the sort script it does not always place the files in the second location I have scoped.  I keep TV shows for kids on a separate directory and I have not done a lot of work to isolate exactly what happens, but it seems that sometimes they file correctly and sometimes they don't.  So I have to go in and manually move them to the proper drive and location every so often.

Many thanks,

Greg

avatarr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: April 17th, 2010, 9:46 pm

New Shows

Post by avatarr »

Kierse,
I'm not really sure how the system handles new shows. Do you have to make updates to the code if new shows are added, does it simply pull from something like thetvdb, or does it just use the directory names?

I ask because I would like to add a new show, "Episodes", to my list of what to grab.

As always, I appreciate your hard work. Have a great day.

-Jason

Lockzi
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: October 10th, 2009, 7:08 am

Re: New Shows

Post by Lockzi »

avatarr wrote: Kierse,
I'm not really sure how the system handles new shows. Do you have to make updates to the code if new shows are added, does it simply pull from something like thetvdb, or does it just use the directory names?
It scans for shows based upon what folders you have in your series directory. Media Rover relies on a well standardized directory structure. Meaning that you have a folder storing only your TV-shows like this:

D:\Series\

Code: Select all

Show1
     \Season 1
           Episode1.avi
           Episode2.mkv
     \Season 2
           Episode1.mpg
           Episode2.wmv

Show2
     \Season 1
           Episode1.avi
           Episode2.mkv
     \Season 2
           Episode1.mpg
           Episode2.wmv
           Episode3.avi
     \Season 3
           Episode1.mpg
           Episode2.wmv

If you would like Media Rover to handle a new show. Just add a new folder into your Series directory, and it will be automatically downloaded unless you've already explicitly configured Media Rover to NOT download it in the configuration files already. - Which is unlikely -

Code: Select all

NewShow3 (A newly created folder in series root)

User avatar
kierse
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 254
Joined: March 5th, 2009, 11:59 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Media Rover

Post by kierse »

pilGrim wrote: - the newzbin issue above
* fixed on the dev branch
pilGrim wrote: - Using the sort script it does not always place the files in the second location I have scoped.  I keep TV shows for kids on a separate directory and I have not done a lot of work to isolate exactly what happens, but it seems that sometimes they file correctly and sometimes they don't.  So I have to go in and manually move them to the proper drive and location every so often.
looking into this now

Kierse

pilGrim
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 116
Joined: January 9th, 2009, 7:28 pm
Location: Hong Kong, SAR China

Re: Media Rover

Post by pilGrim »

kierse wrote:
pilGrim wrote: - the newzbin issue above
* fixed on the dev branch

Kierse
Wahooo - Many many thanks!!

pilGrim
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 116
Joined: January 9th, 2009, 7:28 pm
Location: Hong Kong, SAR China

Re: Media Rover

Post by pilGrim »

kierse wrote:
* fixed on the dev branch

Kierse
Kierse, looks like their might be a typo somewhere, I downloaded the dev branch and rewrote the configs and am getting the following:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Mediarover\mediarover\command\schedule.py", line 106, in schedule
    __schedule(broker, options)
  File "C:\Mediarover\mediarover\command\schedule.py", line 210, in __schedule
    module = __import__("mediarover.queue.%s" % client, globals(), locals(), [client.capitalize() + "Queue"], -1)
  File "C:\Mediarover\mediarover\queue\sabnzbd\__init__.py", line 184
    except (UnicodeDecodeError), e:
    ^
IndentationError: expected an indented block
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Mediarover\mediarover.py", line 19, in
    mediarover.run()
  File "C:\Mediarover\mediarover\__init__.py", line 77, in run
    schedule(broker, args)
  File "C:\Mediarover\mediarover\command\schedule.py", line 106, in schedule
    __schedule(broker, options)
  File "C:\Mediarover\mediarover\command\schedule.py", line 210, in __schedule
    module = __import__("mediarover.queue.%s" % client, globals(), locals(), [client.capitalize() + "Queue"], -1)
  File "C:\Mediarover\mediarover\queue\sabnzbd\__init__.py", line 184
    except (UnicodeDecodeError), e:
    ^
IndentationError: expected an indented block


Grew

avatarr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: April 17th, 2010, 9:46 pm

Re: Media Rover

Post by avatarr »

Is there a way to configure mediarover to ignore the queueing based on file extension? .ts files, for instance. I love my HD but 9GB 1-hour shows is a little much. I looked through the .conf file but aside from tricking it into qualifying .ts files as "low" quality, how would I accomplish this?

pilGrim
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 116
Joined: January 9th, 2009, 7:28 pm
Location: Hong Kong, SAR China

Re: Media Rover

Post by pilGrim »

avatarr wrote: Is there a way to configure mediarover to ignore the queuing based on file extension? .ts files, for instance. I love my HD but 9GB 1-hour shows is a little much. I looked through the .conf file but aside from tricking it into qualifying .ts files as "low" quality, how would I accomplish this?
Hi Avatarr,

Simple way is to get your rss feed to be standard quality only.  Easy to do with nzbs.org or newzbin.com.  Only issue there is that you cannot get a mix of HD Stuff.  Other option is to separate you standard and HQ stuff into different directory structures and then run two different mediarover install & schedules each using a unique SD or HD rss feed.

There might be an easier way with new quality features, but I am not that familiar with them yet.

User avatar
kierse
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 254
Joined: March 5th, 2009, 11:59 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Media Rover

Post by kierse »

Hey pilGrim,
pilGrim wrote: Kierse, looks like their might be a typo somewhere, I downloaded the dev branch and rewrote the configs and am getting the following:
Sorry for the late reply, I somehow missed your post. I fixed this particular problem a few days after you posted the message, if you haven't updated do so now

Kierse

User avatar
kierse
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 254
Joined: March 5th, 2009, 11:59 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Media Rover

Post by kierse »

Hi avatarr,
avatarr wrote: Is there a way to configure mediarover to ignore the queueing based on file extension? .ts files, for instance. I love my HD but 9GB 1-hour shows is a little much. I looked through the .conf file but aside from tricking it into qualifying .ts files as "low" quality, how would I accomplish this?
pilGrim was correct when he suggested filtering at the source. Most of indexing sites supported by MR allow you to filter and/or construct an RSS feed that contains acceptable quality level episodes. Besides most of the indexing sites don't include file extension information in their RSS feeds. So there would be no way to determine (before downloading the episode) whether or not its meets your criteria.

Kierse

pilGrim
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 116
Joined: January 9th, 2009, 7:28 pm
Location: Hong Kong, SAR China

Re: Media Rover

Post by pilGrim »

kierse wrote: Hey pilGrim,

Sorry for the late reply, I somehow missed your post. I fixed this particular problem a few days after you posted the message, if you haven't updated do so now

Kierse
Thanks, will update asap.  Figured you were busy and was about to send you a note to ask if you got that fixed!  Will let you know if I run into any other issues. 

Greg

avatarr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: April 17th, 2010, 9:46 pm

Re: Media Rover

Post by avatarr »

kierse wrote: Hi avatarr,
avatarr wrote: Is there a way to configure mediarover to ignore the queueing based on file extension? .ts files, for instance. I love my HD but 9GB 1-hour shows is a little much. I looked through the .conf file but aside from tricking it into qualifying .ts files as "low" quality, how would I accomplish this?
pilGrim was correct when he suggested filtering at the source. Most of indexing sites supported by MR allow you to filter and/or construct an RSS feed that contains acceptable quality level episodes. Besides most of the indexing sites don't include file extension information in their RSS feeds. So there would be no way to determine (before downloading the episode) whether or not its meets your criteria.

Kierse
I figured that was the case but also figured it couldn't hurt to ask. I first considered constructing an RSS feed that avoids this but as my main source is NZBMatrix, the only thing I can figure out with that is to use the TV:HD section and search for anything less than a certain file size. My problem is that I can't seem to get the stupid query working to show everything less than X GB and then use that query to make an RSS feed. I fiddled with it for a while and never could get it working. I chalked it up to a limitation of nzbmatrix. I even tried a saved search but it apparently needs something in the query box. "*" doesn't seem to work, unfortunately.

avatarr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: April 17th, 2010, 9:46 pm

Re: Media Rover

Post by avatarr »

EDIT: Realized what was causing my mistake, but I'll leave the question here in case anyone else ends up doing a search later. I ended up having three configured sources. One "high" for nzbmatrix, one "high" for newzbin, and one "medium" for newzbin. Neither "high" configured source had a schedule_delay set, and I think that is what was causing the issue. I added a schedule_delay = 2 to the newzbin source just to avoid simultaneous downloads. This should prevent this from occurring again.

It does bring up the question of allowing the control of what the script does when it finds duplicate episodes of the same quality. Yes, the bandwidth has already been used but it would be nice to be able to tell it to just nuke the file since it's already there. Then again, there might be a reason why you would want to know that it downloaded duplicate episodes (like, say, to bring ones attention to the fact that they're being downloaded and prompt the user to come up with a fix).

I can see the situation arising again if, for instance, source one ends up lagging source two by 20 minutes? Or is the script smart enough, as long as the schedule_delay is at least 1, to prevent simultaneous downloads if one has been queued in the previous execution of the script?


----------------------
Another question from your favorite mediarover user...

I recently enabled quality controls. I'm occasionally having an issue that sabnzbd downloads a duplicate episode (even when my desired quality is "high" and there is an episode with the .mkv extension already). It downloads the episode, goes to sort, and then identifies that the duplicate episode exists. At that point it then moves (renames) the file with quality and date / time info. Example of the line where the renaming is executed:

Code: Select all

downloaded episode moved from '/PATH TO TV/SHOW NAME/filename.sXXeYY.mkv' to '/PATH TO TV/SHOW NAME/SHOW NAME - sXXeYY.[high].201102082312.mkv' - __init__.py:943
Shouldn't it either be deleting the old one or not downloading the show at all since the desired quality of the show already exists? What happens when my feed pulls down an avi (medium) and later finds a high quality version? I imagine that it would delete the .avi version and replace it with the .mkv. I'm just confused as to why it's replacing a .mkv with another .mkv.

I went through the config file a few times and nothing really stands out to me as a way to fix this.

...

After having typed all that, it occurred to me that the cause is most likely my use of two rss feeds from two sources. This apparently ends up queuing the download of one version from one RSS source and then another from a separate RSS source. In essence, it doesn't find the episode even though it's queued it for download already. Looking in my SABnzbd history, it shows the two versions of the show / episode in question being completed within 2 minutes of each other. What's the best way to prevent this from happening? I use them both in case one ends up having some shows / episodes that the other doesn't.

I have nzbmatrix set with no schedule_delay value and then newzbin set with a schedule_delay of 6 (and the script running every 10 minutes with the following line in my crontab):

Code: Select all

0-59/10 * * * * python /PATH/TO/MEDIAROVER/mediarover.py schedule > /dev/null
Sorry for being long-winded, I just wanted to make sure I was thorough.
Last edited by avatarr on February 9th, 2011, 11:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kierse
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 254
Joined: March 5th, 2009, 11:59 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Media Rover

Post by kierse »

avatarr wrote: I figured that was the case but also figured it couldn't hurt to ask. I first considered constructing an RSS feed that avoids this but as my main source is NZBMatrix, the only thing I can figure out with that is to use the TV:HD section and search for anything less than a certain file size. My problem is that I can't seem to get the stupid query working to show everything less than X GB and then use that query to make an RSS feed. I fiddled with it for a while and never could get it working. I chalked it up to a limitation of nzbmatrix. I even tried a saved search but it apparently needs something in the query box. "*" doesn't seem to work, unfortunately.
Hmm, that is a problem. Its too bad the nzbmatrix search functionality wasn't a little more rebust.  Have you tried Yahoo Pipes? I've used pipes in the past to implement a size filter.

Kierse

Post Reply