nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Got a program that plays well with SABnzbd? Share it here!
Post Reply
duz
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 76
Joined: January 21st, 2008, 6:53 pm

nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by duz »

Image

nzbdStatus is a Firefox extension that adds a widget to your status bar that lets you monitor your downloads as well as control SAB.  Both Firefox 2 and 3 are currently supported.

It also integrates with NewzBin and provides little `Send to SAB` arrows on reports.  It will also monitor your downloads and automatically upload any NZB file to SAB for those that don't use NewzBin.

Caveats:
You must be using a current version of SAB (v.3 or later).
Only v3 of NewzBin is supported, the old site interface is not.
It can only monitor one SAB daemon at a time.

What's planned for the future:
Monitoring several SAB daemons.
Monitoring HellaNZB daemons as well as SAB daemons.
Customizing the information the tool tip displays.
Having Firefox pop up an alert when a download finishes.


Post in this thread for help & support, comments & suggestions.  I'm also in sab's irc room located under the help tab inside sab.
Last edited by duz on December 17th, 2009, 12:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

duz
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 76
Joined: January 21st, 2008, 6:53 pm

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by duz »

How you can help:

I don't have Firefox 3 installed so I need one of you that do to test something for me:
Follow these steps and let me know if it works:
1) Start Firefox from a terminal / command prompt
2) Set a username / password for SAB in SAB
3) Restart SAB and log into it and let Firefox save the username / password
4) Restart SAB so you're at the login page
5) Go to about:config and clear extensions.sabnzbdstatus.sabpassword and extensions.sabnzbdstatus.sabusername
6) Wait for nzbdStatus to refresh or left-click it (default action)
7) See if those two preferences auto fill and nzbdStatus logs you into SAB
If it doesn't work, let me know what, if any errors appear in the terminal.

User avatar
KaiUno
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: January 23rd, 2008, 6:56 am

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by KaiUno »

Instead of the download timer in the statusbar, could you perhaps show download speed? My que is always huge and I don't realy care how long it takes to download.

User avatar
rascalli
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 666
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:30 am
Location: Bossche bollen land

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by rascalli »

Maybe he can build in a sort of chooser.

As I for instance like to see the time remaining  :P

User avatar
KaiUno
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: January 23rd, 2008, 6:56 am

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by KaiUno »

I wouldn't dare ask for a change just for lil'ol'me. More options are always nice!

Hulebeoren

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by Hulebeoren »

An option to show both would be nice too ^^

mhammer
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: January 24th, 2008, 2:21 pm

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by mhammer »

Sabstatus works, but i got no timer - saying sabnzbd is idle. I can start sabnzbd with middle mousebutton, so url is correct. Send to Sabnzbd form v3 newzbin works also. I`am using Sabnzbd+ v0.3 with plush interface.

I already tried removing an new install. B6 with sabnzbd+ r4 worked like charm.

Any hints?

duz
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 76
Joined: January 21st, 2008, 6:53 pm

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by duz »

mhammer wrote: Sabstatus works, but i got no timer - saying sabnzbd is idle. I can start sabnzbd with middle mousebutton, so url is correct. Send to Sabnzbd form v3 newzbin works also. I`am using Sabnzbd+ v0.3 with plush interface.
I already tried removing an new install. B6 with sabnzbd+ r4 worked like charm.
Any hints?
Go into the options and check then uncheck `Legacy Mode`.  If you used a previous version, sometimes it gets set wrong.  I need to fix that.

mhammer
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: January 24th, 2008, 2:21 pm

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by mhammer »

Unchecked "Legacy Mode" now it works... thanks duz

digitalsy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: January 25th, 2008, 11:30 am

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by digitalsy »

I LOVE this firefox add-on. Sabnzbd is great, but Sabnzbd w/ nzbdStatus makes it purely awesome. I don't know how download from usenet could get any easier!

As for features the only thing I'd suggest is being able to view your queue from the status bar, and dynamically move the items in your queue up and down. Otherwise great app and works without issues!

--digitalsy

nzb_leecher
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 211
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 1:38 pm

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by nzb_leecher »

It seems to work again here.

I have a question can you add some extra info? Next to 02:30 hours to go before the queue is empty, I would also like to see somthing finished at friday 23:40 and if the dloads get slower i doesnt say friday 00:30 but  saterday 00:30 ;-)

duz
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 76
Joined: January 21st, 2008, 6:53 pm

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by duz »

nzb_leecher wrote: It seems to work again here.

I have a question can you add some extra info? Next to 02:30 hours to go before the queue is empty, I would also like to see somthing finished at friday 23:40 and if the dloads get slower i doesnt say friday 00:30 but  saterday 00:30 ;-)
Is it that hard to figure out when 2 hours from now is?  :P
That'll be part of the customization stuff planned for a later update.

nzb_leecher
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 211
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 1:38 pm

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by nzb_leecher »

I deleted nzbstatus a while agoo because i kept saying sab was idle while it was dloading :-)

Today i installed it again and hey it worked, but after a while i noticed that when i added a nzb, it was added two times in the plush interface. It started when i added a nzb, when sab updated the menu, but nzbstatus not, so i clicked left button, to let nzbstatus also update.

I didnt understand why. I closed the browser, didnt help. So i killed the dosbox box that sab was showing/running. Started sab again and it didnt added the files two times anymore. But now nzbstatus keeps again saying that sab is idle :-(

nzb_leecher
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 211
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 1:38 pm

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by nzb_leecher »

Yesterday after i restarted my browser it worked again, but today after rebooting my computer, it again, it says sab is idle. Leftclicking doenst help either somehow nzbstatus cant see sab30 :-(

User avatar
inpheaux
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 730
Joined: January 16th, 2008, 9:14 pm

Re: nzbdStatus: SAB Control & Monitoring and NewzBin Integration

Post by inpheaux »

nzb_leecher wrote: Yesterday after i restarted my browser it worked again, but today after rebooting my computer, it again, it says sab is idle. Leftclicking doenst help either somehow nzbstatus cant see sab30 :-(
Did you restart SABnzbd? It doesn't magically auto-start itself when you reboot. nzbdStatus probably can't see it because it isn't running.

Post Reply