Vista Sidebar Gadget

Got a program that plays well with SABnzbd? Share it here!
Post Reply
User avatar
pieteckhart
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 139
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by pieteckhart » May 5th, 2008, 8:07 am

Version 2.0.0.4
Download: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/sabgadget2.gadget
new site: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/

Version 1.0.1.8
Download: http://www.kijknaarons.nl/wp-content/up ... sab.gadget

FAQ
1) Can it we used remotely?
Yes just make sure you have forwarded port 8080 (default) in your router.
(instructions: http://www.portforward.com/english/appl ... oindex.htm)

2) Will it work with HTTPS enabled?
No, but i am experimenting with it.

3) What is the best version to use with Windows Vista?
use the latest v1 (more features) or the latest v2 (support for newer SABnzbd+ versions)

4) What is the best version to use with Windows 7?
2.0.0.4+

5) Why can't i reorder the the queue like in the v1 versions?
i am having some problems with this feature. But i'm working on it.

6) Why can't my gadget connect to localhost?
sometimes connecting to localhost does not work correctly. use 127.0.0.1 in staid. This has something to do with localhost also pointing to  IPv6 addresses.

7) Why does "My Documents" open when i click the completed directory button?
This is a bug, its fixed in the latest version, time to upgrade!

8) What is that in the top right corner?
It is supposed to look like a turtle, when you click on it and it glows orange the turtle mode is enabled.
it will throttle your speed to the limit set in the gadget settings. click on it again to have "unlimited" speed ;)

TODO List
- Queue Sorting
- Queue Finished Sound
- Speed Graph
- HTTPS (if possible)
Last edited by pieteckhart on January 21st, 2010, 12:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
SABnzbd+ Windows 7 Gadget
Manage your downloads from your desktop.
Download: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/sabgadget2.gadget
Site: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/

kizer8
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:00 am

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by kizer8 » May 5th, 2008, 8:31 am

Great gadget, but what does the timeout option do?

Thanks,
Kizer

User avatar
pieteckhart
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 139
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by pieteckhart » May 5th, 2008, 8:38 am

Every few seconds the Gadget contacts SABnzbd+ to ask information about the Queue.
this timeout by default is 1000 milliseconds (every second).

If you want to limit the load on your computer or sabhost you can make it bigger like 5000 (5 Seconds).

Maybe i will make this a dropdown where you can choose between 1 , 5, 10 and 60 seconds.

Does this answers your question? 
SABnzbd+ Windows 7 Gadget
Manage your downloads from your desktop.
Download: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/sabgadget2.gadget
Site: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/

User avatar
KaiUno
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: January 23rd, 2008, 6:56 am

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by KaiUno » May 5th, 2008, 9:32 am

Subscribed :)

User avatar
pieteckhart
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 139
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by pieteckhart » May 5th, 2008, 9:34 am

KaiUno wrote: Subscribed :)
did you read the small text about the monthly fee ;)
SABnzbd+ Windows 7 Gadget
Manage your downloads from your desktop.
Download: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/sabgadget2.gadget
Site: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/

kizer8
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:00 am

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by kizer8 » May 5th, 2008, 10:26 am

pieteckhart wrote: Every few seconds the Gadget contacts SABnzbd+ to ask information about the Queue.
this timeout by default is 1000 milliseconds (every second).

If you want to limit the load on your computer or sabhost you can make it bigger like 5000 (5 Seconds).

Maybe i will make this a dropdown where you can choose between 1 , 5, 10 and 60 seconds.

Does this answers your question? 
Yes sir it does.

Thanks.
Kizer

User avatar
pieteckhart
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 139
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by pieteckhart » May 6th, 2008, 2:03 am

i didn't even think about that! :P

i will try it out and see how i looks. maybe i will make it optional so you can choose!

where did you code your gadget width? i use visual studio and attached it to the sidebar.exe process so i can set breakpoints and debug real easy.
SABnzbd+ Windows 7 Gadget
Manage your downloads from your desktop.
Download: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/sabgadget2.gadget
Site: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/

User avatar
KaiUno
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: January 23rd, 2008, 6:56 am

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by KaiUno » May 6th, 2008, 5:21 am

Who needs more than one progress bar? There's only ever going to be one active. The ETA would be more interesting perhaps, though it would be less pleasing to the eye, I suppose.

User avatar
pieteckhart
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 139
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by pieteckhart » May 6th, 2008, 5:34 am

if you move jobs up and down the job queue via the web interface you could have progress on more than 1 job.
so if you want to know what job is more finished you could see it in his progress bar, without it there is no way yo see it

i probably did not explain this very well lol, does this make sense?

oh and ETA is the next thing on my todo list. where shall i put it? instead of speed? like you can switch between speed and ETA?
or maybe in the title (it now only says SABnzbd+) 
Last edited by pieteckhart on May 6th, 2008, 5:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
SABnzbd+ Windows 7 Gadget
Manage your downloads from your desktop.
Download: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/sabgadget2.gadget
Site: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/

User avatar
KaiUno
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: January 23rd, 2008, 6:56 am

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by KaiUno » May 6th, 2008, 6:23 am

I've been using sab for years now, I'm aware that you CAN move jobs in the que. But honestly, who ever does. Only reason I ever move something to the top, is when I'm in a hurry to get it. (You know, my daily fix of Daily Show and Colbert Report for instance.) But at that point, I no longer care if the job that was first originally was halfway done or only just started or whatever. So, for most users, it's only going to be the first job's progress that has a coloured bar. The rest of em... will be blank.

But maybe that's just me.

User avatar
pieteckhart
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 139
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by pieteckhart » May 6th, 2008, 8:06 am

KaiUno wrote: I've been using sab for years now, I'm aware that you CAN move jobs in the que. But honestly, who ever does. Only reason I ever move something to the top, is when I'm in a hurry to get it. (You know, my daily fix of Daily Show and Colbert Report for instance.) But at that point, I no longer care if the job that was first originally was halfway done or only just started or whatever. So, for most users, it's only going to be the first job's progress that has a coloured bar. The rest of em... will be blank.

But maybe that's just me.
yes you're right! its easy to make it optional so users can choose what they want. so i will implement that
SABnzbd+ Windows 7 Gadget
Manage your downloads from your desktop.
Download: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/sabgadget2.gadget
Site: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/

User avatar
pieteckhart
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 139
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by pieteckhart » May 6th, 2008, 1:46 pm

pair of dimes wrote: It would be cool if you click on a job, you see more details in a pop-up bubble possibly the files contained within the nzb too..
yep that would be cool but afaik there is no way to get this information via the API in a json string so i have to wait untill it does.
the same goes for the History.

i think ill focus on the adding of new nzb files for now.

or is there something more important? let me know!
SABnzbd+ Windows 7 Gadget
Manage your downloads from your desktop.
Download: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/sabgadget2.gadget
Site: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/

User avatar
neilt0
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 120
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 4:16 am

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by neilt0 » May 7th, 2008, 12:29 am

Doesn't appear to work when detached from the sidebar.

User avatar
pieteckhart
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 139
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by pieteckhart » May 7th, 2008, 2:59 am

Yes thats true,
when a sidebar gadget is detached the gadget uses an other html file as when it is attached.
i simply did not made anything for it.

i think i will make it bigger when it is detached but with the same features.

or has someone else an idea of what to do with a detached gadget?
SABnzbd+ Windows 7 Gadget
Manage your downloads from your desktop.
Download: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/sabgadget2.gadget
Site: http://eckhart.hopto.org/sabgadget/

User avatar
neilt0
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 120
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 4:16 am

Re: Vista Sidebar Gadget

Post by neilt0 » May 7th, 2008, 3:21 am

A bigger version would be great. Can you resize detached gadgets?

I look forward to seeing a detachable version if you can do it.

Cheers,

Neil.

Post Reply