Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Questions and bug reports for Beta releases should be posted here.
Forum rules
Help us help you:
  • Tell us what system you run SABnzbd on.
  • Adhere to the forum rules.
  • Do you experience problems during downloading?
    Check your connection in Status and Interface settings window.
    Use Test Server in Config > Servers.
    We will probably ask you to do a test using only basic settings.
  • Do you experience problems during repair or unpacking?
    Enable +Debug logging in the Status and Interface settings window and share the relevant parts of the log here using [ code ] sections.
Post Reply
User avatar
88keyz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 11:59 am

Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by 88keyz »

The favicon is looking pretty messed up starting with Alpha3.

Image

Something to look at for the next release.
User avatar
safihre
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5339
Joined: April 30th, 2015, 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by safihre »

Hmmm, that is weird. It seems the images given as:
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="x" sizes="xx" />
All cause Internet Explorer to try and rescale those, causing blurriness.
Maybe we should just get rid of those, since mobile devices will use the "apple-touch-icon" link's anyway.
If you like our support, check our special newsserver deal or donate at: https://sabnzbd.org/donate
Cpuroast
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 69
Joined: December 15th, 2010, 11:19 pm

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by Cpuroast »

safihre wrote:Hmmm, that is weird. It seems the images given as:
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="x" sizes="xx" />
All cause Internet Explorer to try and rescale those, causing blurriness.
Maybe we should just get rid of those, since mobile devices will use the "apple-touch-icon" link's anyway.
The favicon is blurry in Chrome and Firefox, so it's not just IE and only since Alpha 3.
User avatar
safihre
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5339
Joined: April 30th, 2015, 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by safihre »

Oke, those new icons need to be removed then indeed..
I did not see the blurriness on Chrome/Firefox on my Windows.
If you like our support, check our special newsserver deal or donate at: https://sabnzbd.org/donate
User avatar
safihre
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5339
Joined: April 30th, 2015, 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by safihre »

Could you possibly check what happens if you remove the lines:
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="./staticcfg/ico/favicon-196x196.png" sizes="196x196" />
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="./staticcfg/ico/favicon-160x160.png" sizes="160x160" />
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="./staticcfg/ico/favicon-96x96.png" sizes="96x96" />
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="./staticcfg/ico/favicon-32x32.png" sizes="32x32" />

In interfaces/Plush/templates/_inc_header.tmpl?
If you like our support, check our special newsserver deal or donate at: https://sabnzbd.org/donate
Cpuroast
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 69
Joined: December 15th, 2010, 11:19 pm

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by Cpuroast »

safihre wrote:Could you possibly check what happens if you remove the lines:
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="./staticcfg/ico/favicon-196x196.png" sizes="196x196" />
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="./staticcfg/ico/favicon-160x160.png" sizes="160x160" />
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="./staticcfg/ico/favicon-96x96.png" sizes="96x96" />
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="./staticcfg/ico/favicon-32x32.png" sizes="32x32" />

In interfaces/Plush/templates/_inc_header.tmpl?
That fixed it, the icon is nice and sharp again in Chrome and Firefox.

For my site, I just use:

<link rel="icon" type="image/x-icon" href="wp-includes/images/other/favicon.ico" />
<link rel="shortcut icon" type="image/x-icon" href="wp-includes/images/other/favicon.ico" />
Cpuroast
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 69
Joined: December 15th, 2010, 11:19 pm

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by Cpuroast »

Actually narrowed it down to:

<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="./staticcfg/ico/favicon-32x32.png" sizes="32x32" />

If I remove that single line, it's back to normal.

By the way, this is Chrome and Firefox on OSX.

I'll have to deal with the blurry icon until the next alpha, as any modifications to the .app package breaks the code signing, which means I get a firewall prompt whenever sab starts.

Anyways, easiest fix is to simply pull the 4 <link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="x" sizes="xx" /> lines.
User avatar
88keyz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 11:59 am

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by 88keyz »

That was quick detective work. Fix works perfect. I also noticed that you need to remove those lines from /interfaces/Config/templates/_inc_header_uc.tmpl as well or you still get the messed up icon on the Config menu. Thanks for the tip.
Cpuroast
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 69
Joined: December 15th, 2010, 11:19 pm

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by Cpuroast »

I ended up reverting to 0.8a2, I couldn't deal with the blurry icon on my bookmarks bar any longer :)
Hopefully it's fixed in 0.8a4.
User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 19774
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by shypike »

It's worked on. Hopefully Alpha4.
User avatar
88keyz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 11:59 am

Beta4 Favicon Also Needs Work

Post by 88keyz »

Seems like this problem is back in Beta4. Blurry icon is the same in IE, Firefox and Chrome. The offending code this time is the following...

Code: Select all

  <meta name="apple-mobile-web-app-title" content="SABnzbd" />
  <link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="76x76" href="./staticcfg/ico/apple-touch-icon-76x76-precomposed.png" />
  <link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="120x120" href="./staticcfg/ico/apple-touch-icon-120x120-precomposed.png" />
  <link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="152x152" href="./staticcfg/ico/apple-touch-icon-152x152-precomposed.png" />
  <link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="180x180" href="./staticcfg/ico/apple-touch-icon-180x180-precomposed.png" />        
  <link rel="icon" sizes="192x192" href="./staticcfg/ico/touch-icon-192x192.png" />
If you remove this from interfaces/Plush/templates/_inc_header.tmpl then the favicon returns to normal.
User avatar
safihre
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5339
Joined: April 30th, 2015, 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by safihre »

I can only reproduce it on IE.. For me FF and Chrome show the correct one.

The line that causes it, is:
<link rel="icon" sizes="192x192" href="./staticcfg/ico/touch-icon-192x192.png" />
For some reason IE ignores the favicon and takes that one..

I'm going to look into it!
I added this for Android devices, but they will also work fine without it since there's also a 180x180 version available.
This whole mobile-icons and favicons is causing more problems than they should!
If you like our support, check our special newsserver deal or donate at: https://sabnzbd.org/donate
User avatar
safihre
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5339
Joined: April 30th, 2015, 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by safihre »

I have a virtual machine with Ubuntu for FF and one with Win7 and old FF/IE/Chrome but only on IE the icon is blurry.
Are you sure it's on all your browsers?
Can you confirm if just deleting the 192x192 one fixes it? For me it does.
If you like our support, check our special newsserver deal or donate at: https://sabnzbd.org/donate
User avatar
88keyz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 11:59 am

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by 88keyz »

You're correct, Chrome doesn't seem to have the favicon issue. I checked Chrome 47.0.2526.106, Firefox 43.0.4, Pale Moon 28.5.1 and Internet Explorer 11 on Windows 10 and all of them except Chrome have the blurry icon. And yes, removing the line '<link rel="icon" sizes="192x192" href="./staticcfg/ico/touch-icon-192x192.png" />' solves the issue on all the browsers I checked.
User avatar
safihre
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5339
Joined: April 30th, 2015, 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Alpha3 Favicon Needs Work

Post by safihre »

Oké great, I also verified that the 180x180 icon still works fine for IOS and Android so will push the change to just remove the 192x192 version!
If you like our support, check our special newsserver deal or donate at: https://sabnzbd.org/donate
Post Reply