0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Questions and bug reports for Beta releases should be posted here.
Forum rules
Help us help you:
  • Tell us what system you run SABnzbd on.
  • Adhere to the forum rules.
  • Do you experience problems during downloading?
    Check your connection in Status and Interface settings window.
    Use Test Server in Config > Servers.
    We will probably ask you to do a test using only basic settings.
  • Do you experience problems during repair or unpacking?
    Enable +Debug logging in the Status and Interface settings window and share the relevant parts of the log here using [ code ] sections.
Post Reply
ErikBrown
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 135
Joined: December 20th, 2009, 1:25 am
Location: Home

0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by ErikBrown »

SABnzbd 0.8.0 beta 1
Windows 7 Pro 32
smpl skin

Thanks for the new version of SABnzbd.

Speed limit scheduling appears not to have any effect in version 0.8.0 beta 1. After upgrading from 0.7.20 the scheduled speedlimit setting was changed in the configuration screen from 300 (= 300 kB/s) to 300%. Setting a new schedule to 30% is accepted but it has no effect. Manual setting to a value, for instance to 300 also does not limit the download speed. Manual setting to a percentage is not accepted.

Erik

Update
The following was shown in the status screen when a speed limit was scheduled:

2015-09-19 10:00:00,006 WARNING: You must set a maximum bandwidth before you can set a bandwidth limit

I had not set the option Status - General - Tuning - Maximum line speed. After setting it to my line speed, limiting the download speed by setting a percentage works. Setting an actual value as with previous versions of SABnzbd does not work.
Last edited by ErikBrown on September 19th, 2015, 1:19 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21039
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: 0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by shypike »

We'll check.

User avatar
safihre
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3938
Joined: April 30th, 2015, 7:35 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by safihre »

As you already noticed, only percentages from now on!
If you like our support, check our special newsserver deal or donate at: https://sabnzbd.org/donate

mnbf9rca
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: September 27th, 2015, 3:08 pm

Re: 0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by mnbf9rca »

safihre wrote:As you already noticed, only percentages from now on!
what's the rationale for this? It's a bit unhelpful!

I would suspect that most people dont care about the maximum, but want to set a rate that they can work out the impact of. For example, i have FTTC and so my line speed is something like 70Mbps. So I know that downloading at 1MBps is not going to impact me watching netflix, regardless of whether the line resyncs at a slightly lower speed or not, so i set it to unlimited at night and 1MBps during the day.

Now I have to "fudge" it by setting max speed to 100Mbps and putting in a percentage to get the same result - but if for some reason my line is upgraded and i get exceed this SAB won't take advantage of the maximum capacity available.

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21039
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: 0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by shypike »

I'll see if we can support existing absolute numbers.

talz13
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: January 7th, 2010, 3:43 pm

Re: 0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by talz13 »

Having ONLY the option for percentage is not a good user experience. The old KB/s limiter should be brought back, at least as an either/or option.

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21039
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: 0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by shypike »

Beta2 will now accept a percentage and an absolute number (with KMG notation).
Still no full backward compatibility because the previous versions used a rather awkward convention of KBps.
So 10 meant 10.000 bytes/sec
We drop that, people will have to review their schedules.

talz13
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: January 7th, 2010, 3:43 pm

Re: 0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by talz13 »

Thanks, that should work well! Looking forward to it!

khaoohs
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: January 31st, 2012, 4:10 pm

Re: 0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by khaoohs »

i have to agree that this is a very un-intuitive way of handling this. I hope to see an additional option to be able to provide a number in (KMG) notation for the maximum bw.

Edit, I'm running 0.8 beta1, just realised that this was announced for beta2. Thank you.

clowg
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: February 12th, 2016, 11:44 pm

Re: 0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by clowg »

So it seems that KMG schdules have returned at some time and now work in RC1?

User avatar
safihre
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3938
Joined: April 30th, 2015, 7:35 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 0.8.0 beta 1 Speed limit scheduling does not work

Post by safihre »

Yes, somewhere after beta 2 :)
If you like our support, check our special newsserver deal or donate at: https://sabnzbd.org/donate

Post Reply