no route to host but ping

Get help with all aspects of SABnzbd
Forum rules
Help us help you:
  • Are you using the latest stable version of SABnzbd? Downloads page.
  • Tell us what system you run SABnzbd on.
  • Adhere to the forum rules.
  • Do you experience problems during downloading?
    Check your connection in Status and Interface settings window.
    Use Test Server in Config > Servers.
    We will probably ask you to do a test using only basic settings.
  • Do you experience problems during repair or unpacking?
    Enable +Debug logging in the Status and Interface settings window and share the relevant parts of the log here using [ code ] sections.
Post Reply
frelacia
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: January 9th, 2011, 1:17 pm

no route to host but ping

Post by frelacia » January 13th, 2011, 10:42 am

Hi,

I´ve installed sabnzbd+ v0.5.6. I´m already connected to gogonet ipv6. I´m able to ping the newsserver:

Code: Select all

ping6 reader.ipv6.xsnews.nl
PING reader.ipv6.xsnews.nl(2001:67c:174:101::4) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 2001:67c:174:101::4: icmp_seq=1 ttl=58 time=22.7 ms
64 bytes from 2001:67c:174:101::4: icmp_seq=2 ttl=58 time=12.8 ms
64 bytes from 2001:67c:174:101::4: icmp_seq=3 ttl=58 time=13.1 ms
64 bytes from 2001:67c:174:101::4: icmp_seq=4 ttl=58 time=11.0 ms
^C
--- reader.ipv6.xsnews.nl ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3004ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 11.028/14.939/22.714/4.562 ms
 

but after starting sabnzbd+ I get the message "no route to host" like this:

Code: Select all

2011-01-13 16:37:51,490::INFO::[misc:570] Lauching browser with http://localhost:8080/sabnzbd
2011-01-13 16:37:51,498::DEBUG::[misc:647] Version check disabled by Ubuntu/Debian packaging
2011-01-13 16:37:52,280::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 16:37:52,312::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
2011-01-13 16:37:52,313::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 16:37:52,331::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
2011-01-13 16:37:52,332::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 16:37:52,358::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
2011-01-13 16:37:52,359::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 16:37:52,393::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
2011-01-13 16:37:52,394::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 16:37:52,444::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
2011-01-13 16:37:52,445::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 16:37:52,472::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
2011-01-13 16:37:52,473::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 16:37:52,500::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
2011-01-13 16:37:52,501::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 16:37:52,535::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
2011-01-13 16:37:52,536::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 16:37:52,562::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
2011-01-13 16:37:52,563::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 16:37:52,594::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
Could someone help?

Thanks
frelacia

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 6134
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: no route to host but ping

Post by sander » January 13th, 2011, 11:32 am

Two possible causes:

1) usenet traffic over your IPv6 tunnel is blocked, OR
2) your python/sabnzbd does not understand IPv6

But first: is this a full Debian/Ubuntu on a PC, or on a NAS/small device?

Things to check:
What does "telnet reader.ipv6.xsnews.nl 119" give you?
What happens when you add newszilla6.xs4all.nl (no account needed) to SAB's servers?
Please don't send me unrequested PM's; the forum is the best way to communicate.
If someone helps you, please reply to that help.

frelacia
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: January 9th, 2011, 1:17 pm

Re: no route to host but ping

Post by frelacia » January 13th, 2011, 11:50 am

yes, it is a full Debian/Ubuntu on a PC.

the telnet request gave: 

Code: Select all

telnet reader.ipv6.xsnews.nl 119
Trying 2001:67c:174:101::2...
Trying 2001:67c:174:101::3...
Trying 2001:67c:174:101::4...
Trying 2001:67c:174:101::5...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: No route to host
The behavior with the other server is the same like reader.ipv6.xsnews.nl :

Code: Select all

2011-01-13 17:46:44,332::INFO::[misc:570] Lauching browser with http://localhost:8080/sabnzbd
2011-01-13 17:46:44,342::DEBUG::[misc:647] Version check disabled by Ubuntu/Debian packaging
2011-01-13 17:46:45,124::INFO::[downloader:465] [email protected]:119: Initiating connection
2011-01-13 17:46:45,165::INFO::[newswrapper:215] Failed to connect: (110, '[Errno 113] No route to host') [email protected]:119
... 10 times ...
Thanks for answering

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 6134
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: no route to host but ping

Post by sander » January 13th, 2011, 12:18 pm

OK. Let's check whether gogonet is blocking NNTP traffic:

disable gogonet (via /etc/init.d/???)
enable teredo/miredo: sudo apt-get install miredo
check gogonet is disabled (see your ifconfig), check teredo/miredo is working via http://test-ipv6.com/ ; you should have a 2001:0: address
If everything is OK, restart SABnzbd and check if it works ....


Here's the proof that xsnews works over teredo/miredo:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~$ telnet reader.ipv6.xsnews.nl 119
Trying 2001:67c:174:101::2...
Connected to reader.ipv6.xsnews.nl.
Escape character is '^]'.
201 reader.ipv6.xsnews.nl NNRP Service Ready (no posting).
quit
205 Transferred 60 bytes in 0 articles, 0 groups.  Disconnecting.
Connection closed by foreign host.
[email protected]:~$
Last edited by sander on January 13th, 2011, 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Please don't send me unrequested PM's; the forum is the best way to communicate.
If someone helps you, please reply to that help.

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 6134
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: no route to host but ping

Post by sander » January 13th, 2011, 12:47 pm

PS:

If disabling gogonet is too difficult for you, here's a nice-to-know:

if you have multiple (ipv6) interface because of multiple ipv6 tunnels (miredo AND gogonet), you can specify the ipv6 tunnel you want to test with telnet using the parameter -b:

telnet -b 2001:0:abcd: ipv6.google.com http

telnet -b 2001:0:abcd: newszilla6.xs4all.nl nntp

You have to fill out your local IPv6 address, which of course depends on the tunnel (interface)
Last edited by sander on January 13th, 2011, 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Please don't send me unrequested PM's; the forum is the best way to communicate.
If someone helps you, please reply to that help.

frelacia
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: January 9th, 2011, 1:17 pm

Re: no route to host but ping

Post by frelacia » January 14th, 2011, 1:20 am

ok, now it works.

I disabled the gogonet tunnel via ifconfig:

Code: Select all

sudo ifconfig tun down
(tun is the name of the gogonet interface)

After installing the other tunnelclient (miredo) it works
Thank you very much!

User avatar
sander
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 6134
Joined: January 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

Re: no route to host but ping

Post by sander » January 14th, 2011, 1:46 am

frelacia wrote: ok, now it works.

I disabled the gogonet tunnel via ifconfig:

Code: Select all

sudo ifconfig tun down
(tun is the name of the gogonet interface)

After installing the other tunnelclient (miredo) it works
Thank you very much!
OK. Conclusion: gogonet is blocking nntp 119 traffic.  :(

One thing to check: after a reboot, check the gogonet tunnel is not back again. Maybe better to deinstall gogonet.
Please don't send me unrequested PM's; the forum is the best way to communicate.
If someone helps you, please reply to that help.

Post Reply