I suspect par2 multicore is not working, but not sure

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
Post Reply
Bonaparty
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 14
Joined: May 18th, 2009, 1:04 pm

I suspect par2 multicore is not working, but not sure

Post by Bonaparty » February 22nd, 2010, 8:35 am

Hi,

I installed sabnzbd 0.5.0 on my QuadCore running Vista 32, downloaded a big file (8 gb) that needed repair and while par2.exe was doing it's thing it seemed like the par2.exe process was not running higher than 25%. Does that automatically mean that multicore par is not occuring on my system? (yes, it is enabled it in the sabnzbd settings)

Just curious,
BParty

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21002
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: I suspect par2 multicore is not working, but not sure

Post by shypike » February 22nd, 2010, 10:33 am

If it hangs indefinitely, it may mean there's a bug in par2-multicore
or that your system is on the edge.
You can choose to run the "classic" mode.

Keep in mind that a serious repair may take a long time,
but the CPU load should be high in that case.

BTW: never just kill SABnzbd, your queue might get corrupted.
Kill the par2 process instead.

User avatar
inpheaux
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 730
Joined: January 16th, 2008, 9:14 pm

Re: I suspect par2 multicore is not working, but not sure

Post by inpheaux » February 22nd, 2010, 11:09 am

shypike wrote: If it hangs indefinitely, it may mean there's a bug in par2-multicore
or that your system is on the edge.
You can choose to run the "classic" mode.
It luckily doesn't sound like it's hanging, he's just complaining that it only seems to be using a single core.

Be sure "Enable Multicore Par2" is turned on, and try putting -t+ in the "Extra Par2 Options" box. It should autodetect that you can run in multi-core mode, but this will force it to use multiple threads.

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21002
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: I suspect par2 multicore is not working, but not sure

Post by shypike » February 22nd, 2010, 1:38 pm

-t- is better. That way verification is single core (which prevents disk trashing)
and repair will be multi-core.

Bonaparty
Release Testers
Release Testers
Posts: 14
Joined: May 18th, 2009, 1:04 pm

Re: I suspect par2 multicore is not working, but not sure

Post by Bonaparty » February 22nd, 2010, 2:22 pm

shypike wrote: -t- is better. That way verification is single core (which prevents disk trashing)
and repair will be multi-core.
Are you sure? Because the par2.exe command-line help says:
"-t- to checksum/create/repair serially - uses a single thread - good for testing this program"

I tested par2.exe outside of SAB with default repair settings (i.e.. from the command-line) and my cpu utilization went up to 80% so when I do it that way multi-core is def. working. I will test it inside SABNZBD again.

User avatar
shypike
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 21002
Joined: January 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Re: I suspect par2 multicore is not working, but not sure

Post by shypike » February 22nd, 2010, 6:52 pm

I was confused  ???
You are right: it is actually -t0

adamsuail
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: February 4th, 2010, 1:52 am

Re: I suspect par2 multicore is not working, but not sure

Post by adamsuail » March 2nd, 2010, 11:55 am

Thanks guys, -t0 it is...i cant believe i was running my i7 in a single core mode ALL THIS TIME..thanks for the tip  :'(

Post Reply